Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Media Contacts

George Vlahakis

Last modified: Wednesday, July 31, 2002

IU's Kelley School of Business selects next class of Kelley Scholars

Editors: Publication-quality photos of all the Kelley Scholars are available online at Separate news releases also have been prepared for each Kelley Scholar. Contact the IU Office of Communications and Marketing if you need individual information about someone from your circulation area.

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- Ten incoming students to Indiana University Bloomington have been selected as Kelley Scholars by IU's Kelley School of Business.

Kelley Scholars, all incoming freshmen this fall who intend to major in business at IU Bloomington, will receive tuition and fees, a stipend for living expenses, and other funding, which may include funding for internships and overseas study. The award is for four years and has an annual value of more than $12,000 for Indiana residents and more than $22,000 for non-residents.

The Kelley Scholars Program is funded by a $23 million gift from E.W. Kelley and his family, made to IU in the fall of 1997. The university named its School of Business for the Kelley family in acknowledgement of the extent of the gift.

The Kelley Scholars were selected from a group of 120 students who had been accepted to IU and were invited to apply for the Kelley program because of their outstanding records. Applications included references, high school transcripts and several personal statements on a variety of topics, including an essay.

Twenty-four finalists were invited to the IU Bloomington campus Feb. 23-24. The weekend included extensive interviews with faculty members, submission by each candidate of a writing sample, campus tours and a dinner. The winners were selected on the basis of their performance that weekend.

The 10 Kelley Scholars, their high schools and their hometowns are:

-- Amanda Adler, Haverford Township South, Bryn Mawr, Pa.

-- Molly Brooks, Terre Haute South Vigo, Terre Haute, Ind.

-- John Glennon, North Central High School, Indianapolis, Ind.

-- Whitney Johnson, Floyd Central High School, Floyds Knobs, Ind.

-- Sapna Kumar, Lisle High School, Lisle, Ill.

-- Nathan McAninch, Harrison High School, West Lafayette, Ind.

-- Elizabeth Sanders, Central High School, Evansville, Ind.

-- Britta Schreiber, Lawrence Central High School, Indianapolis, Ind.

-- Scott Tidwell, South Side High School, Fort Wayne, Ind.

-- Daniel Zoller, Dekalb High School, Auburn, Ind.

For more information about the Kelley Scholars Program, contact Katie Paulin, associate director of undergraduate programs at the Kelley School of Business, at 812-855-4474 or