Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Media Contacts

George Vlahakis
IU Media Relations

Last modified: Thursday, May 17, 2007

IU student receives Beinecke Scholarship

May 17, 2007

Abigail Scott

Abigail Scott

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- Abigail Scott, a junior at Indiana University Bloomington, is one of 20 college students nationwide selected to receive the Beinecke Scholarship by the Sperry Fund of Bethlehem, Pa.

Scott, a 2004 graduate of Thomas Worthington High School in Ohio, is the fourth IU student to receive the scholarship, which is given to encourage and enable highly motivated students to pursue graduate studies in the arts, humanities or social sciences at any accredited university. Each scholar receives $2,000 immediately prior to entering graduate school and an additional $30,000 while attending graduate school.

Scott is majoring in linguistics and German and has been studying abroad this year in Freiburg, Germany. She is the daughter of Michael and Mary Scott of Worthington, Ohio.

Scott is a member of the National German Honor Society and has been on the Dean's List each semester at IU. She also received the Burnett/Masters Junior Scholarship through the Hutton Honors College. She is involved in InterVarsity Christian Fellowship.

She was invited to work in the lab of one of her professors, Daniel Dinnsen, Chancellor's Professor of linguistics, and on his research project involving young children with speech disorders.

The Beinecke Scholarship Program was established in 1971 by the directors of The Sperry and Hutchinson Co. to honor Edwin, Frederick and Walter Beinecke. The board created an endowment to provide substantial scholarships for the graduate education of young men and women of exceptional promise. Since 1975 the program has selected more than 370 college juniors from 97 different schools.