Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Media Contacts

Scott Witzke

Last modified: Wednesday, May 2, 2007

WFIU to feature national programs spotlighting IU Jacobs School of Music alumni

May 3, 2007

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- During the month of May, WFIU will air a number of nationally produced programs featuring alumni from the Indiana University Jacobs School of Music.


Metropolitan Opera National Council Auditions Grand Finals Concert
Saturday, May 12, 1:30 p.m.

The concert features performances by the eleven finalists who were chosen in the 2007 Met Opera National Council Auditions Grand Finals. The finalists were picked from nearly 1,500 singers and are competing for $15,000 cash prizes.

One of the six winners chosen from the finalists was mezzo-soprano Jamie Barton, 25, a master's student at the IU Jacobs School of Music. She performs Priva son d'ogni conforto from Giulio Cesare by Handel, and Hurr hopp hopp hopp from Hänsel und Gretel by Humperdinck. The finalists also perform excerpts of works by Verdi, Donizetti, Stravinsky, and others.


Avery Fisher Artist Program Awards
Sunday, May 27, 4 p.m.

This exciting program features live performances by the winners of this year's prestigious Avery Fisher Awards, all of whom are connected to the IU Jacobs School of Music.

Joshua Bell pauses with IU's Avery Fisher award recipients DaXun Zhang, Kristopher Tong and Yura Lee. Photo by Henry Grossman.

Print-Quality Photo

The Avery Fisher Prize was awarded to violinist Joshua Bell. The IU alumnus will receive $75,000 dollars, and his name will be etched in marble on a plaque in Avery Fisher Hall at Lincoln Center. The Avery Fisher Career Grants were awarded to IU alumni violinist Yura Lee, double bassist DaXun Zhang, and to the Borromeo String Quartet, which includes violinist Kristopher Tong.

Music benefactor Avery Fisher established Lincoln Center's Avery Fisher Artist Program in 1974 to nurture young performers.

The Avery Fisher Prize is an award given every three to four years to American musicians for outstanding achievement in classical music, and is regarded as one of the most significant awards for American instrumentalists. The award is decided by members of the Avery Fisher Artist Program; artists do not apply, and nominations are secret.

The Avery Fisher Career Grants are awarded yearly to young instrumentalists who are destined to major careers. These grants are designed to give professional assistance and recognition to talented instrumentalists who have potential for solo careers.

Actress Glenn Close and Chairman of the Avery Fisher Artist Program Nathan Leventhal, among others, are on hand to give introductions and tributes.


About WFIU

WFIU, an NPR Member Station, is your local source for Classical Music, Jazz and News.

WFIU serves central and southern Indiana and is committed to quality broadcasting without commercial interruption. WFIU can be heard at 103.7 fm in Bloomington, 100.7 fm in Columbus, 106.1 fm in Kokomo, 95.1 fm in Terre Haute, and online at