Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Media Contacts

Jane Jankowski

Last modified: Monday, October 7, 2002

Chancellor Brehm names strategic planning committee

The chair and members of the Indiana University Bloomington Strategic Planning Committee have been named by Bloomington Chancellor Sharon Stephens Brehm. Fred Cate, professor of law, will chair the 25-member group.

"I am delighted that Professor Cate has agreed to serve as chair of this committee. His knowledge of the campus and his ability to work with a wide variety of people will make a vital contribution to the strategic planning process and help ensure that its impact on the campus will be both beneficial and significant," said Brehm.

The committee is charged with articulating the mission and the values of the campus and identifying Bloomington's academic and general priorities.

"It is a privilege to work with such a distinguished and diverse cross-section of the Bloomington campus. We certainly have our work cut out for us," Cate said, noting that the committee must complete its work on the mission, values and academic priorities no later than Feb. 1. Development of general priorities will take place in spring and fall of 2003.

IU President Myles Brand and the IU Trustees will be consulted throughout the process, and formal approval will be sought at the appropriate time. As one of its first tasks, the committee will develop ways to communicate with the campus throughout the planning process.

Members of the committee are:

William Aspray -- Informatics

Julie Bobay -- Library

Bonnie Brownlee -- Journalism

Fred Cate -- Law

Claude Clegg -- History

Dan Dalton -- Business

Mike Donovan -- Physical Plant

Sally Dunn -- University Division

Tina Gilliland -- College of Arts and Sciences

Gerardo Gonzalez -- Education

Susan Gubar -- English

Karen Hanson -- Honors College

Barbara Hawkins -- HPER

Lawrence Hurst -- Music

Sarah Mac Gill -- Business

Astrid Merget -- SPEA

Paul Namaste -- Sociology

Milos Novotny -- Chemistry

Rudy Raff -- Biology

Jane Rogan -- LAMP

Barry Rubin -- SPEA

Rich Shiffrin -- Psychology

Bonnie Sklarski -- Studio Art

Sarita Soni -- Optometry

Kumble Subbaswamy -- College of Arts and Sciences