Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Last modified: Tuesday, July 10, 2007

Third class of IU presidential scholars named

Scholarship program renamed for Adam W. Herbert

July 10, 2007

Adam Herbert

IU President Emeritus Adam W. Herbert

Print-Quality Photo

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- Indiana University President Michael A. McRobbie has announced that 67 high school students from Indiana have accepted offers to attend IU as Adam W. Herbert Presidential Scholars. Now in its third year, this scholarship, which was previously known as the Hoosier Presidential Scholarship, was renamed by the IU Board of Trustees at its May meeting to honor IU President Emeritus Adam W. Herbert, who initiated the program.

"I am deeply honored that this significant scholarship program bears my name," said Herbert. "It will enable IU to attract even more of Indiana's best and brightest high school graduates. Ultimately they will put their skills and knowledge to work in building a stronger Hoosier economy. We are extremely grateful to the Lilly Endowment for its generosity in funding this visionary program to reduce our state's brain drain."

This fall, 52 Herbert Presidential Scholars will enroll at the Bloomington campus, 10 at IUPUI, two at IU South Bend and one each at regional campuses in Gary, Kokomo and New Albany. The 2005 inaugural class consisted of 33 students and the 2006 class included 60 scholars.

The program is funded by a $10 million grant from the Lilly Foundation, with the goal of placing more of Indiana's top high school students at IU campuses and the hope that they might be more inclined to stay in Indiana after they graduate.

Criteria for selection include class rank, grade point average, SAT I or ACT test scores and strength of high school curriculum. Also considered are each student's record of activities and leadership positions, record of community service, personal statement, and a recommendation from a high school teacher, guidance counselor or community member. Indiana residency is required and preference is given to National Merit Scholarship qualifiers.

This year's Herbert Presidential Scholarship freshman class has an average grade point average exceeding 4.0, due to AP and honors classes, and the average SAT composite score was 1348. Nearly every scholar ranked in the top 5 percent of his or her high school class. Minority students comprise one third of the class.

Unlike IU's other competitive scholarship programs, such as the Wells and Kelley Scholars, eligibility for Herbert Presidential Scholarships is limited to Indiana residents.

These students will receive renewable scholarships ranging from $6,000 to $12,000 a year for four years, plus a new laptop computer. In their junior or senior year, the students also will receive an additional $1,000 award toward the cost of a semester of international study.

The investment provides roughly $500,000 a year in interest to support the program. From this fund, scholarship grants ranging from $2,000 to $4,000 are awarded to each participant. The student's campus must match the award on a two-for-one basis, resulting in a total value of $6,000 to $12,000 per student. As a result, each award is campus-specific and non-transferable to another IU campus. Each campus nominates students for the award from its applicant pool.

High school seniors who are interested in competing for next year's Herbert Presidential Scholarships should be sure their enrollment application is completed and turned in this fall. Final nominations from IU campuses for the 2008 call of Herbert Presidential Scholars are due on Jan. 15 with letters from the president sent by the first of February.

Herbert Presidential Scholars for 2007:

IU Bloomington:

Jessica Ahoni, Marion
Elizabeth Amadio, Westfield
Christian Amechi, Fort Wayne
Theodore Boeglin, Indianapolis
Paroma Bose, Greenwood
Marissa Carrillo, Portage
Rettig Deinlein, Bloomington
Melanie Dybvig, Bloomington
Margot Eckerle, Jasper
Alisia Foster, Sellersburg
Melissa Frye, Chesterton
Steven Galat, Mishawaka
Elisabeth Gawthrop, Franklin
Jherika Gogins, Hammond
Kyler Gray, Middletown
Steven Green, Indianapolis
Elizabeth Head, Bloomington
Alexandra Hernly, South Bend
James Highbaugh, Indianapolis
Lilli Jackson, Indianapolis
Brittany Jones, Indianapolis
Sean Kelley, Brownsburg
Caitlin Keusch, Vincennes
Bradley Kleinschmidt, Indianapolis
Jungmin Lee, Bloomington
Shona Lee, Fort Wayne
Christopher Magor, South Bend
Michael Mahoney, Indianapolis
Alex McNeilly, Indianapolis
Aric Moran, Muncie
Ian Morrall, Lawrenceburg
Caleb Mossburg, Uniondale
Kevin Murphy, Carmel
Margaret Musick, Carmel
Austin Piech, Munster
Kimberly Sanders, Marion
Matthew Schnaars, Goshen
Valeri Simmons, Pendleton
Jacob Spitznagle, Lafayette
Laura Summers, Fort Wayne
Robert Swider, Indianapolis
Daniel Swihart, Fort Wayne
Johnathon Valdez, Bloomington
Marissa Vetter, Indianapolis
Erica Viar, Fishers
Megan Walsh, Zionsville
Mackenzie Weaver, Freelandville
Francis White, Indianapolis
Joseph Williams, Fort Wayne
Elizabeth Zabel, Brownsburg
Brad Zehr, Fort Wayne
Mary Kala Zorn, Bloomington


Alisa Beal, Plainfield
Kelie Carpenter, Shelbyville
Cora Daniel, Fort Wayne
Whitney Dominiack, South Bend
Lance Faivor, Anderson
Deric Fitzwater, Shelbyville
Robert Miskimen, Avon
Rachael Taylor, Zionsville
Amanda Walter, Sunman
Monica Woodard, Kokomo

IU Kokomo:

Danylle Smith, Kokomo

IU Northwest:

Katelyn Stanfield, Portage

IU South Bend:

Dominique Hein, South Bend
Sarah Horvath, La Porte

IU Southeast:

Heather Brown, Greenville