Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Last modified: Tuesday, July 24, 2007

Sue H. Talbot reelected by alumni as IU trustee

June 30, 2007

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- Indiana University alumni elected Sue H. Talbot, Bloomington, Ind., to a third three-year term as IU trustee today (June 30). Talbot, who was first elected in 2001, received 8,586 of the 29,418 valid votes cast.

Talbot, who earned bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees in education from IU, is past president of the IU School of Education Alumni Association and the IU Alumni Association, and also is founding director of Hoosiers for Higher Education, IU's advocacy organization. She has been special assistant for education to the governor and is a two-time recipient of the Sagamore of the Wabash designation, a special award bestowed by Hoosier governors.

Other candidates and their vote totals were:

Ray Richardson, Greenfield, Ind., 7,409

Philip N. Eskew III, Bloomington, Ind., 4,933

Steven A. "Steve" Miller, Aurora, Ill., 4,085

Tyler Daniel Helmond, Bloomington, Ind., 2,390

Allen G. "Al" Woodhouse, Bloomington, Ind., 1,999

Overall, 31,268 votes were cast, and 1,741 were declared invalid due to lack of signature. On the day of the election, 109 ballots and/or envelopes were voided, and of those, 33 ballots were blank, 51 showed votes for more than one candidate, 10 envelopes were empty, and five contained notes explaining that the alumna/us was deceased. Additionally, 10 ballots fell into the "other" category with write-in candidates, address changes with no ballot, and previous years' ballots.

IU has nine trustees, three of whom are elected by alumni. The other two alumni trustees are Patrick A. Shoulders of Evansville, Ind., who was first elected in 2005 after serving on the board as governor's appointment beginning in 2001, and Philip N.Eskew Jr. of Carmel, Ind., who was elected in 2006. Shoulders' current term will end in 2008, and Eskew's current term expires in 2009. The remaining trustees are appointed by the governor.