Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Media Contacts

George Vlahakis
IU Media Relations

Sue Artmeier
Johnson Center for Entrepreneurship and Innovation

Last modified: Tuesday, July 31, 2007

Applications being accepted until Aug. 31 for 2007 IU Entrepreneurial Awards of Distinction

July 31, 2007

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- Applications are being accepted until Aug. 31 for the 2007 Indiana University Entrepreneurial Awards of Distinction, presented by the Johnson Center for Entrepreneurship and Innovation at IU's Kelley School of Business.

This is the third year for the awards, which recognize outstanding emerging and established companies within the state of Indiana for their achievements in growth, innovation and entrepreneurial spirit.

All public and private corporations, proprietorships and partnerships located in Indiana and founded prior to the 2004 fiscal year with revenues greater than $1 million are eligible to apply.

Donald F. Kuratko, executive director of the Johnson Center and the Jack M. Gill Chair of Entrepreneurship, said previous winners will face the same vigorous competition as they did a year ago.

"This award focuses on the many facets of Indiana's successful companies," Kuratko said. "Companies can apply in one or more category allowing them to showcase the uniqueness of their companies. The winning companies must be able to articulate what is innovative or what is entrepreneurially special about them."

Nonprofit organizations also are invited to apply for the Social Entrepreneurship Award, which is presented to an organization with a social mission that demonstrates entrepreneurial excellence in innovation and/or spirit.

The 2007 IEADs awards banquet will be held at the Indiana Roof Ballroom in Indianapolis on Thursday, Oct. 18.

Applications and nomination forms are available online at For more information, contact Kelli Conder at or 812-855-4248.