Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Media Contacts

Michael Hamburger
Committee on Institutional Cooperation

Nancy Webber
Office of Academic Affairs and Dean of the Faculties

Last modified: Tuesday, July 31, 2007

Five IU faculty members named Academic Leadership Program fellows

July 31,2007

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- Every year, Indiana University selects several faculty members with distinguished leadership ability to participate in the Academic Leadership Program, sponsored by the Committee on Institutional Cooperation (CIC)—a consortium of the 11 universities of the Big Ten conference plus the University of Chicago.

Academic Leadership Program Fellows for the 2007-08 academic year include Matt Auer, professor and director of undergraduate programs, School of Public and Environmental Affairs; Barbara Bichelmeyer, associate professor, Instructional Systems Technology, School of Education, and associate dean of the faculties; Hannah Buxbaum, professor, School of Law, and associate dean for research; Tom Gieryn, department chair and Rudy Professor of Sociology; and Genevieve Manset Williamson, associate professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction, and associate dean for teacher education, School of Education.

These faculty were nominated for this honor and chosen "because their records of scholarship and significant university service point to their growing achievements as academic leaders," said Jeanne Sept, associate vice provost for academic affairs and dean of the faculties.

  • Auer is editor-in-chief of the public policy journal Policy Sciences and a member of the Executive Council of the Society of Policy Scientists. He has authored more than 40 refereed articles and book chapters dealing with environmental policy and public policy. For more than 15 years, Auer has helped U.S. federal agencies formulate, implement and appraise foreign aid programs dealing with environmental protection, energy policy and sustainable development. Between 2001 and 2005, he participated on the U.S. delegation to the United Nations Forum on Forests. At annual meetings of the forum, he negotiated global-scale arrangements governing aid for the forest sector. Auer is also the recipient of the President's Award for Teaching Excellence.
  • Bichelmeyer's research, teaching and service work focus on the areas of human performance improvement, instructional and program evaluation, instructional design, adult learning, and the integration of technologies in instructional environments. Recently, her grant-based research has focused on the study of blended learning environments for the Cisco Learning Institute. The evaluation of educational materials for the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and the Indiana Supreme Court Commission for Continuing Legal Education highlight her most recent service work, although she has also worked with organizations such as Procter & Gamble, Eli Lilly, Microsoft, Sprint, the U.S. Coast Guard, and the National Collegiate Athletic Association to design, develop and evaluate education and training programs.
  • Buxbaum's research is in the areas of private international law and international litigation and jurisdiction, and she publishes widely in both U.S. and European journals. She is a recipient of the Leon H. Wallace Teaching Award, and has twice won the Gavel Award for outstanding contribution to the graduating class. Buxbaum has taught as a visiting professor at the universities of Cologne, Kiel and Nurnberg-Erlangen, and at the San Diego Institute for International and Comparative Law in London. She is a member of the Executive Council of the American Society of International Law, the American Society of Comparative Law, the Association of American Law Schools, and the American Law Institute.
  • Gieryn, besides being department chair and Rudy Professor of Sociology, is an adjunct professor in the Department of History and Philosophy of Science -- with visiting professorships at Cornell University, Nankai University (Tianjin, China) and Twente University (Holland), and a year at Princeton's Institute for Advanced Study. His research focuses on the cultural authority of science and on the significance of place for human behavior and social change. His book Cultural Boundaries of Science: Credibility On the Line (University of Chicago Press, 1999) won the Robert K. Merton Book Award from the Section on Science, Knowledge and Technology of the American Sociological Association.
  • Williamson coordinates the special education program and is associate chair of the Department of Curriculum and Instruction. She is a nationally recognized expert in learning disabilities and literacy. Among Williamson's recent projects is a clinic that serves students in the local community who have reading disabilities. She also examines innovative approaches for teaching middle school students with significant reading deficits. Areas of research include reading instruction for students with learning disabilities and school restructuring and reform.

More information on each of the recipients can be found via the following links: Auer at; Bichelmeyer at; Buxbaum at; Gieryn at; Williamson at

Throughout the CIC's 49-year history of effective voluntary cooperation, it has proved to be an effective mechanism for enabling its members to accomplish more by working collectively. The primary objective of the ALP program is to develop the leadership and managerial skills of faculty who have demonstrated exceptional ability and administrative promise. Find more about the consortium and the ALP program at

Media may contact: Michael Hamburger, IU Liaison, Committee on Institutional Cooperation (CIC), or Nancy Webber, Communications, Office of Academic Affairs and Dean of Faculties, or 812-855-1283.