Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Last modified: Friday, August 17, 2007

Trustees re-elect Ferguson and Shoulders

Aug. 17, 2007

INDIANAPOLIS -- The Indiana University Board of Trustees today (Aug. 17) re-elected Stephen Ferguson of Bloomington as president and Patrick Shoulders of Evansville as vice president.

Steve Ferguson

Stephen Ferguson

The nine-member board also returned Robin Roy Gress as secretary and Mary Frances McCourt as treasurer. Gress and McCourt are not members of the board but serve the board in those capacities. Terms of office are two years.

Ferguson was first elected president in August, 2005. Before that, he served as vice president for two years. He originally was appointed to the IU Board of Trustees by Gov. Frank O'Bannon in 1998 and was re-appointed this month by Gov. Mitch Daniels. A Bloomington attorney, Ferguson is chairman of the board for Cook Group Inc., the parent of several companies worldwide involved in the research, development, manufacture and sale of medical devices.

Shoulders has served on the IU Board of Trustees since 2002, when he was appointed by O'Bannon. In 2005, he sought and won a second three-year term as an alumni-elected trustee. He is a partner in Ziemer, Stayman, Weitzel and Shoulders law firm in Evansville.

Patrick Shoulders

Print-Quality Photo

Three new trustees were sworn into office at the start of the meeting. They are Jack M. Gill, Derica W. Rice, and student Trustee A.D. King. They were all appointed by Daniels earlier this month.

Gill is a founder and managing member of Vanguard Ventures, a venture capital firm specializing in high technology start-ups. Rice is senior vice president and chief financial officer of Eli Lilly and Co. King is a junior majoring in accounting and finance in IU's Kelley School of Business.

Trustees also approved committee assignments for the 2007-08 term. They are:

Facilities Committee -- Dr. William R. Cast, M.D., chair; Dr. Philip N. Eskew, Jr., M.D., A.D. King, Sue H. Talbot.

Finance and Audit Committee -- Thomas E. Reilly, Jr., chair; Patrick Shoulders, Jack M. Gill and Derica Rice.

Academic Affairs and University Policies Committee -- Sue H. Talbott, chair; Dr. William R. Cast, M.D., Jack M. Gill and A.D. King.

External Relations Committee -- Patrick A. Shoulders, chair; Thomas E. Reilly, Jr., Dr. Philip N. Eskew, Jr., M.D., Derica W. Rice.

Long-Range Planning Committee -- All nine trustees.

More information is available at