Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Media Contacts

Rich Schneider
IUPUI Media Relations

Last modified: Tuesday, September 25, 2007

IU Optometry Dean Search Committee announced

Sept. 25, 2007

INDIANAPOLIS -- A search committee has been formed to seek a new dean for the Indiana University School of Optometry, said Charles R. Bantz, Chancellor of Indiana University Purdue University Indianapolis.

In announcing the committee, Bantz noted the accomplishments of Jerry Lowther, dean and professor of optometry at the IU School of Optometry. Lowther will retire as dean after 10 years of service in that position. Among his accomplishments are:


  • Research funding increased
  • Recruited six new high-caliber tenured research faculty
  • IU School of Optometry is now known as a premier research facility in Visual Optics

Clinical Facilities:

  • New three million dollar clinical facility on Third Street on Bloomington Campus breaking ground this month


  • Increased outreach to underserved population of Indiana with establishment of Rural Health program (provide services at four community based health clinics in southern Indiana
  • Establishment of ECCO (Eye Care Community Outreach program) in Indianapolis

Teaching :

  • Implementation of problem-based curriculum
  • 99 percent graduation rate (2007)
  • National Board of Examiners in Optometry scores dramatically increased
  • O.D. applications increased
  • OAT scores of admitted O.D. students increased
  • Diversity of O.D. students increased
  • Established collaboration with Ramkhamhaeng University to start an Optometry School in Thailand, taught in part by IU faculty.

Optometry Dean Search Committee


  • Marion Broome, University Dean and Distinguished Professor, IU School of Nursing, IUPUI

Optometry Faculty Members:

  • Joseph A. Bonanno, Professor of Optometry and Vision Science, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs and Student Administration, IU School of Optometry, IUB
  • T. Rowan Candy, Associate Professor of Optometry, IU School of Optometry, IUB
  • Ann E. Elsner, Professor of Optometry, IU School of Optometry, IUB
  • Tiffenie Ann Harris, Clinical Assistant Professor of Optometry, IU School of Optometry, IUB
  • Steven A. Hitzeman, Clinical Associate Professor of Optometry and Director of Clinics, IU School of Optometry, IUB
  • Victor E. Malinovsky, Clinical Professor of Optometry, IU School of Optometry, IUB
  • Richard E. Meetz, Clinical Associate Professor of Optometry, IU School of Optometry, IUB

Faculty External to Optometry:

  • Louis B. Cantor, M.D., Jay C. and Lucile L. Kahn Professor of Glaucoma Research and Education, Vice Chair for Education and Director of Glaucoma Service, Indiana University School of Medicine, Department of Ophthalmology, IUPUI
  • David A. Suzuki, Professor of Ophthalmology and an IUPUI Diversity Ambassador, Department of Ophthalmology, Indiana University School of Medicine, IUPUI
  • J. Michael Walker, Linda and Jack Gill Chair of Neuroscience, Indiana University, Department of Psychological and Brain Sciences, IUB


Glenn Herringshaw, Director Optical Lab, IU School of Optometry, IUB


Natalie Ann Lambert, IUOSA President


Douglas C. Morrow, O.D.