Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Media Contacts

Alain Barker
IU Jacobs School of Music

Linda Cajigas
IU Jacobs School of Music

Last modified: Monday, January 7, 2008

Three Jacobs School students win District Met Auditions

Jan. 7, 2008

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- Three Indiana University Jacobs School of Music students were named winners in the Indiana District competition of the Metropolitan Opera National Council Auditions held on Jan. 5 at Indiana University's Musical Arts Center.

MET Winners

From left to right: judge Nicholas Muni, Indiana District Director Maria Levy, Jing Zhang, Anthony Webb, Jung Nan Yoon, Heather Youngquist, Kathryn Leemhuis, judges James Ireland and Lenore Rosenberg, and Stephanie Washington celebrate on the MAC stage after the Indiana District Met Auditions Jan. 5 in Bloomington.

Print-Quality Photo

Winners Kathryn Leemhuis, mezzo-soprano; Jung Nan Yoon, soprano; and Jing Zhang, soprano, each took home $1,500 and will advance to the Tri-State Regional Auditions Jan. 19 at the University of Kentucky. The winners of that round will compete in the National Semi-Finals Feb. 17 at the Metropolitan Opera in New York, and the Grand Finals Concert will take place at the Met on Feb. 24.

All three district winners are students of Costanza Cuccaro, Chancellor's Professor of Music in the Jacobs School of Music.

Encouragement awards of $500 each went to Anthony Wright Webb, tenor, and Heather Youngquist, soprano, students of Robert Harrison, and Stephanie Washington, soprano, student of Carol Vaness.

The IU Jacobs School of Music offers its congratulations to these winners.