Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Media Contacts

Eric Schoch
IU School of Medicine

Last modified: Monday, March 3, 2008

Seminar offers unique hands-on science opportunity for Indiana high school students

EDITOR'S NOTE: A full list of high school students attending this program is at the bottom of the page.

March 3, 2008

INDIANAPOLIS -- Fifty of Indiana's top high school students will gain special insights into the worlds of science, medicine and genetics during the annual Molecular Medicine in Action program at the Indiana University School of Medicine March 9 and 10.

Mark Kelley

Mark Kelley

The two-day program, now in its ninth year, affords these select students the opportunity to work alongside some of the nation's top researchers in the labs of the Herman B Wells Center for Pediatric Research.

"With the rapid discoveries in molecular and cell biology, exciting new approaches to diagnose and treat diseases are being investigated, particularly in the areas of targeted approaches to treatments and personalized medicine," said program director Mark R. Kelley, associate director of the Wells Center. "Working side-by-side with our scientists, our program gives science students a realistic and meaningful hands-on experience."

IU scientists will guide students through laboratories and workstations where they will learn how gene mutations are identified, how DNA is isolated and other fundamentals of modern biomedical research. Also, Eric M. Meslin, director of the IU Center for Bioethics, will explain to students the role of ethics in biomedical research. Meslin will be incorporating a new computer-based interactive component to his lecture this year.

"We are excited about integrating this novel technology into our program," said Karen E. Pollok, program co-director.

The Molecular Medicine in Action program is designed to get students excited about science and inspire them to pursue science-related careers. Also, MMIA organizers hope to raise awareness of areas of excellence at Riley Hospital for Children and the IU School of Medicine, and increase interaction between the medical school and Indiana's secondary schools and teachers.

"Our goal is to share the excitement of what cutting edge, state-of-the-art science promises," says Kelley, the Jonathan and Jennifer Simmons Professor of Pediatrics and associate director of basic research at the Indiana University Cancer Center. "We merely loan the student participants the resources to learn -- they provide the vision."

Support for this year's program includes funding in part from the Lilly Endowment, the Riley Children's Foundation, Herman B Wells Center for Pediatric Research, IU School of Medicine, Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis, Pathology Multimedia Education Group, Indiana Department of Education, Indiana Association of Biology Teachers and the Hoosier Association of Science Teachers.

Students participating in this year's program are:

Hena Ahmed, Carmel High School, Hamilton County

Taiwo Ajumobi, Ben Davis High School, Marion County

Emily Alvey, Signature School, Vanderburgh County

Lilli Ashmore, The Indiana Academy for Science, Mathematics & Humanities, Delaware County

Adam Brown, Terre Haute North Vigo High School, Vigo County

Bethany Buis, Beech Grove High School, Marion County

Alison Burger, International School of Indiana, Marion County

Callie Burgin, New Washington High School, Clark County

Kelsey Bush, Brebeuf Jesuit Preparatory School, Marion County

Derek Camp, DeKalb High School, DeKalb County

Quinn Carrico, Scecina Memorial High School, Marion County

Rachel Cheeseman, Harrison High School, Tippecanoe County

Lauren Dreyling, Tri-West, Hendricks County

Christopher Ebling, Floyd Central, Floyd County

Jarrod Felton, Union County High School, Union County

Alexandra Forth, Huntington North High School, Huntington County

Erin Gish, Oldenburg Academy, Franklin County

Whitney Gray, Central Noble, Noble County

Caitlin Hargett, Rock Creek Christian Academy, Clark County

Elizabeth Hoaglund, Zionsville Community High School, Boone County

Christine Hopp, Warren Central, Marion County

Haley Inman, Delta High School, Delaware County

Kristyn Jeffries, South Spencer High School, Spencer County

Amanda Jones, North Miami High School, Miami County

Mark Kalinich, Lake Central, Lake County

Monika Knapp, Perry Meridian High School, Marion County

Brandon Knueve, New Haven, Allen County

Maggie Kubina, Sheridan High School, Hamilton County

Ashley Langen, Home Schooled, Clark County

Samantha Lehman, East Noble High School, Noble County

Kathryn Leonard, R. Nelson Snider High School, Allen County

Eric McClellan, Southport High School, Marion County

Megan Meets, Twin Lakes High School, White County

Allen Meyers, Batesville High School, Franklin County

Bharathi Muthusamy, Chesterton High School, Porter County

Cameron Owen, Hamilton Southeastern High School, Hamilton County

Mallory Parker, Southmont High School, Montgomery County

Parth Patel, Fishers High School, Hamilton County

Steven Sanders, Argos High School, Marshall County

Madeleine Schnittker, Trinity School at Greenlawn, St. Joseph County

Zachary Sherwood, Franklin Central High School, Marion County

Kurt Skaggs, Lapel High School, Madison County

Sean Snodgrass, Jeffersonville High School, Clark County

Jennifer Strasser, Lafayette Jefferson High School, Tippecanoe County

Kendall Troesch, Perry Central, Perry County

Benjamin Ulrich, Plainfield High School, Hendricks County

Samuel Wilhite, Heritage Hills, Spencer County

Amanda Williams, Castle High School, Warrick County

Lauren Zmirski, Marian High School, St. Joseph County

William Zuke, Highland High School, Lake County