Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Media Contacts

Kirk White
Hoosiers for Higher Education

Last modified: Monday, February 10, 2003

Two lawmakers win Welsh-Bowen Distinguished Public Official Award

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. -- State Sen. Ronnie Alting, R-Lafayette, and State Rep. Sheila Klinker, D-Lafayette, each received the Welsh-Bowen Distinguished Public Official Award during the Hoosiers for Higher Education (HHE) luncheon in Indianapolis today (Feb. 10).

HHE members nominate Indiana leaders for the award each year based on their service to higher education in the state. The award is named in honor of former governors Otis "Doc" Bowen and Matthew Welsh who were early leaders of the HHE.

Both Alting and Klinker were cited for their strong advocacy on higher education issues during their tenures in the legislature.

The Monday luncheon was part of the HHE's annual Statehouse visit, which brings IU friends, alumni and supporters from around the state to Indianapolis to meet with state legislators and support higher education funding.

As part of the awards ceremony, a student from the award-winning legislators' district is awarded a $500 scholarship. This year's winner was Lisa Loew, a 2002 graduate of Lafayette Central Catholic High School and a freshman majoring in music at Indiana University Bloomington.