Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Media Contacts

James Tinney
IU Media Relations

Last modified: Wednesday, February 19, 2003

Founders Day to recognize outstanding faculty, students

Indiana University will honor its outstanding faculty members and students at the annual Founders Day celebration, to be held March 9 at 1 p.m. in Assembly Hall.

Sixteen faculty members and four doctoral students will be recognized for outstanding teaching, research or service to the university. The award recipients teach at IU's Bloomington, Indianapolis, Northwest, Southeast and South Bend campuses.

Four faculty members from three campuses have been chosen to receive the President's Award. They are Elaine K. Haub, associate professor of chemistry at IU Southeast; Iztok Hozo, associate professor of mathematics and chair of the Department of Mathematics at IU Northwest; Herbert J. Marks, associate professor of comparative literature at IU Bloomington; and Craig M. Ross, associate professor of recreation and parks administration at IU Bloomington.

The President's Award was established in 1974 to recognize outstanding teaching, research or service on all of Indiana University's campuses.

Randy Isaacson, associate professor of education at IU South Bend, will receive the Frederic Bachman Lieber Memorial Award for outstanding teaching. The Herman Frederic Lieber Memorial Award, which also recognizes outstanding teaching, will go to Jeffrey X. Watt, associate professor of mathematical sciences at IUPUI.

The Frederic Bachman Lieber Award was established in 1954 by Katie D. Bachman in honor of her grandson. The Herman Frederic Lieber Award was originally sponsored by the IU Foundation and is now sponsored by Mrs. Herman Lieber of Indianapolis.

Kenneth G. Dau-Schmidt, the Willard and Margaret Carr Professor of Labor and Employment Law at the IU Bloomington School of Law, will receive the Sylvia E. Bowman Award. Bowman, a respected scholar and author, gave 34 years of service to IU as a professor, academic administrator and chancellor for regional campus administration. The Bowman Award, established in 1994, honors exemplary faculty members in discipline areas related to American civilization.

Bernice A. Pescosolido, Chancellor's Professor of Sociology at IU Bloomington and co-director of the Preparing Future Faculty Program, will receive the Wilbert Hites Mentoring Award. The award was established by Ronald A. Hites, Distinguished Professor of Public and Environmental Affairs at IU Bloomington, in honor of his late father. Hites Award recipients must display outstanding mentoring qualities that provide students or colleagues with the academic support, advice and encouragement needed to establish their own career and educational goals.

Named as recipients of the John W. Ryan Award for Distinguished Contributions to International Programs are Joseph Hoffmann, Harry Pratter Professor of Law and director of international programs at the IU Bloomington School of Law, and Giles R. Hoyt, professor of German at IUPUI.

The Ryan Award was initiated in 1991 and named for the man who was president of IU from 1971 to 1987. Ryan, now president emeritus, was instrumental in fostering IU's commitment to excellence in international education. The award honors faculty members or librarians who have made exceptional contributions to the university's international programs and studies.

The W. George Pinnell Award for Outstanding Service will be given to Robert G. Bringle, Chancellor's Professor of Psychology and Philanthropic Studies at IUPUI and Director of the Center for Service and Learning; Patrick J. Loehrer Sr., M.D., Kenneth K. Wiseman Professor of Medicine and director of the Division of Hemotology/Oncology at IUPUI; and Stephen G. McShane, interim director of library and librarian, archivist/curator University Libraries at IU Northwest.

The University Faculty Council established the Pinnell Award in 1988, honoring the memory of the former executive vice president of the university who also served during his career as president of the IU Foundation and dean of IU's Kelley School of Business. Pinnell was known for his stewardship, leadership, initiative and service to the university, the state and the national government. The award recognizes faculty members or librarians who have shown exceptional breadth of involvement and depth of commitment in service to the university, their profession or the public.

Elizabeth Brand Monroe, associate professor of history at IUPUI, will receive the Thomas Ehrlich Award for Service Learning, which is presented annually to an IU professor who has shown particular merit in service learning. The award is named after the man who served as IU's president from 1987 to 1994.

Two IU faculty members will be elevated to the rank of distinguished professor -- Alexander R. Its, professor of mathematical sciences at IUPUI; and Fred H. Cate, professor of law at the IU Bloomington School of Law.

Four IU Bloomington doctoral students will receive the Lieber Memorial Teaching Associate Award. They are Matthew S. Brim in English, Julia C. Paulk in Spanish and Portuguese and comparative literature, and Kathryn A. Henderson and Carla D. Shirley, both in sociology.

Certificates for students who have earned academic honors will be distributed immediately following the ceremony at a reception at the Mellencamp Pavilion.