Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Media Contacts

Jocelyn Bowie
The College

David Bricker
University Communications

Last modified: Monday, April 28, 2008

Six IU Bloomington students win prestigious scholarships

April 28, 2008

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- Six Indiana University Bloomington undergraduates are the recent recipients of prestigious scholarships. All six students are enrolled within IU Bloomington's College of Arts and Sciences.

Livia Wilz

Livia Wilz is one of six IU Bloomington undergraduates who are receiving prestigious scholarships

"We applaud these outstanding students for what they have already accomplished as well as what they are likely to accomplish in the future," said College Dean Bennett I. Bertenthal. "That our students consistently acquire such prizes is evidence of their innate talents and the excellence of their training by College mentors."

Biochemistry student Anthony Bowen and biology student Ellen Weinzapfel are Beckman Scholars Program award winners. Both Bowen and Weinzapfel are participants in the IU STARS program, which provides young scientists-in-training with extensive research training. Bowen is from Fort Wayne and Weinzapfel is from Mt. Vernon, Ind.

Biochemistry student Livia Wilz and Yun William Yu, who is earning degrees in chemistry and math, are winners of the Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship. Yu entered IU in 2005 as a Wells Scholar. He is currently studying abroad in Freiburg, Germany. Wilz, from Brookville, Ind., is studying abroad in Florence, Italy.

Mariah Coley and Nicholas Marshall are winners of the Palmer-Brandon Prize. Coley, from Jasper, Ind., is majoring in both theater and drama and classical civilization with minors in French and Art History. Marshall, from Fort Wayne, Ind., is majoring in philosophy and religious studies.

The Beckman Scholars Program is an invited program for accredited universities and four-year colleges in the United States. It provides scholarships that contribute significantly in advancing the education, research training and personal development of select students in chemistry, biochemistry, and the biological and medical sciences. The sustained, in-depth undergraduate research experiences and comprehensive faculty mentoring are unique in terms of program scope, content and level of scholarship awards ($19,300 for two summers and one academic year).

The Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Program was established by Congress in 1986 to honor Senator Barry M. Goldwater, who served his country for 56 years as a soldier and statesman, including 30 years of service in the U.S. Senate. The purpose of the Foundation is to provide a continuing source of highly qualified scientists, mathematicians and engineers by awarding scholarships to college students who intend to pursue careers in these fields.

The $20,000 Palmer-Brandon Prize is given annually to outstanding full-time College of Arts and Sciences students who are majoring in the humanities.

Links to high resolution images of the six student scholars follow.

Anthony Bowen

Mariah Coley

Nicholas Marshall

Ellen Weinzapfel

Livia Wilz

Yun William Yu

To speak with Bertenthal or with any of the award recipients, please contact Jocelyn Bowie, College of Arts and Sciences, at 812-855-5265 or, or David Bricker, University Communications, at 812-856-9035 or