Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Media Contacts

Larry MacIntyre
University Communications

Last modified: Monday, June 30, 2008

Patrick A. Shoulders re-elected by alumni as IU trustee

June 30, 2008

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- Indiana University alumni elected Patrick A. Shoulders, Evansville, Ind., to a third three-year term as IU trustee today (June 30). Shoulders, who was first elected in 2005 after serving on the board as a governor's appointment beginning in 2001, received 14,507 of the 32,552 valid votes cast.

Patrick A. Shoulders

Print-Quality Photo

Shoulders, who earned bachelor's and law degrees from IU, serves as the trustees' vice president, chair of its external relations committee and as trustee liaison to IU Southeast. He is an attorney in the firm of Ziemer, Stayman, Weitzel & Shoulders. He is a past president of the IU Alumni Association and a director of the IU Foundation, the IU Center on Philanthropy and the Well House Society. He is past president of the IU College of Arts and Sciences Alumni Board and the Woodburn Guild.

"I want to say thank you to the alumni for giving me another three years to work for our beloved university," Shoulders said. "This was by no means a landslide. I know there are a lot of things at IU that we need to continue to work on. We've been in the process of turning this place around for the last couple of years, and we will continue to do so."

Other candidates and their vote totals were:

Kelly Smith, Fishers, Ind. -- 11,306

Samuel Locke, East Lansing, Mich. -- 6,739

This was the first year that alumni could vote online, and nearly 45 percent of valid ballots cast, 14,574, were done in that manner. There were 2,999 more votes cast this year than in the 2007 election.

Overall, 34,264 votes were cast, and 1,647 were declared invalid due to lack of signature. On the day of the election, 65 ballots and/or envelopes were voided, and of those, 21 ballots were blank, 19 showed votes for more than one candidate, eight envelopes were empty, and four contained notes explaining that the alumna/us was deceased. Additionally, 13 ballots fell into the "other" category with write-in candidates, address changes with no ballot, or there simply were notes for other unrelated matters.

IU has nine trustees, three of whom are elected by alumni. The other two alumni trustees are Philip N. Eskew Jr. of Carmel, Ind., who was elected in 2006; and Sue H. Talbot of Bloomington, Ind., who was re-elected in 2007. Eskew's current term will expire in 2009, and Talbot's term expires in 2010. The remaining trustees are appointed by the governor.