Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Media Contacts

Capt. Jerry Minger
IU Police Department

Last modified: Wednesday, August 6, 2008

2008 IU Police Academy to hold its 36th graduation ceremony

Aug. 6, 2008

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- The Indiana University Police Academy will hold its 36th graduation ceremony on Aug. 9 at 11 a.m. in Whittenberger Auditorium at the Indiana Memorial Union.

Of the seven accredited law enforcement academies in Indiana, the IU Police Academy is unique in the United States because it combines an academic and accredited law enforcement training program for undergraduates on a university campus. Since 1972, the IU Police Academy has graduated more than 950 police officers that are now employed by agencies such as the FBI, U.S. Secret Service, and numerous state, county and local police departments.

Lt. Greg Butler, training coordinator at the IU Police Department, directs the IU Police Academy. Butler retired in 1994 from the U.S. Marine Corps and was a member of the first IU Police Academy class in 1972.

The Hon. William J. Nelson, judge of the Marion Superior Court, Criminal Division, will be the guest speaker. He will later be assisted by Charles N. Braun II, staff attorney and master instructor of the Indiana Law Enforcement Academy, in presenting diplomas. This will be followed by IUPD Chief of Police Michael R. Hanson administering the oath of office to the police cadets.

Phillip Amandola, chaplain of the IUPD and pastor of the Life Church, will give the invocation and benediction.

The 24 police cadets completed more than 600 hours of training to graduate and become certified police officers in the State of Indiana. Nineteen members of the class will stay and perform duties on the Bloomington campus, four will return to the Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis campus and one will return to the IU Northwest campus in Gary.

Special awards will be presented to those cadets excelling in academic, physical fitness and firearms proficiency. Breitegan Paules will receive the Physical Fitness Award, Morgan Berns will receive the Firearms Proficiency Award and the Academic Award will be announced at the graduation.

For 15 weeks, the cadets have attended classes in crisis intervention, investigation techniques, human behavior, criminal and traffic law, firearms, physical tactics and cultural diversity, to mention only a few topics. In addition, they were required to attend daily physical training each morning at 6 a.m. and to pass physical testing.

List of graduates

Morgan Crawford Berns
Christopher Scott Campbell
Nicholas Dean Christian
Carol Marie Evener
Sandie Anne Goodman
Clint Thomas Holmstrom
Winston Thomas Hunter
Samuel Dexter Laughlin
Daniel Jordan Lawson
James Andrew Lerg
Joseph Stephen Mahanna
Anthony Martin III
Zachary Davran Miller
Mark Robert Molter
Kyle Jeffrey Moulden
Pablo Navarrete
Breitegan Allen Paules
Samuel Hans-Joseph Newlin-Haus
Phillip Ryan Pratt
Benjamin Alan Rupenthal
Nathan Cole Shipley
Ian R. Spearman
Jillian Beth Spencer
Brian Daniel Wyatt

For more information, contact Capt. Jerry Minger, IU Police Department, 812-855-4296 or