Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Media Contacts

Nancy Webber
Communications, Academic Affairs and Dean of the Faculties

Last modified: Monday, September 29, 2008

IU faculty members named Academic Leadership Program fellows for 2008-09

Four IU faculty members named Academic Leadership Program fellows for 2008-09

Sept. 29, 2008

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- Every year, Indiana University Bloomington selects faculty members with distinguished leadership ability to participate in the Academic Leadership Program (ALP), sponsored by the Committee on Institutional Cooperation (CIC) -- a consortium of the 11 universities of the Big Ten conference, plus the University of Chicago.

Academic Leadership Program Fellows for the 2008-09 academic year include:

  • Rowan Candy, associate professor and associate dean for research, School of Optometry
  • David Daleke, associate professor, Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, School of Medicine
  • Beth A. Plale, associate professor, Department of Computer Science, associate dean of research, and director of the Center for Data and Search Informatics (DSI) in the School of Informatics
  • Amy Reynolds, associate professor, and associate dean for research and graduate studies, School of Journalism

Faculty members chosen for this honor have records of scholarship and significant university service that reflects their growing achievements as academic leaders.

Candy received a Ph.D. in vision science from the University of California, Berkeley (1997) and completed her postdoctoral work at the Smith-Kettlewell Eye Research Institute in San Francisco (1997-2000). She joined the faculty of the School of Optometry in 2000 and is an associate professor and associate dean for research (2007). Her research involves studies of normal and abnormal visual development in human infants and is funded by the National Institutes of Health. Candy is a fellow of the American Academy of Optometry, and a member of both the Association for Research in Vision and Ophthalmology and the Vision Sciences Society. She is currently the chair of the faculty advisory board for the IU Bloomington Women in Science Program and serves on the NIH Central Visual Processing study section. For more information on Candy, see

Daleke is an associate professor in Biochemistry and Molecular Biology in the Medical Sciences Program and serves as the associate dean for academic affairs in the University Graduate School. He received a Ph.D. from Stanford University in 1986. He has served as an American Cancer Society Postdoctoral Fellow at the University of California at San Francisco (1986-88); Established Investigator of the American Heart Association (1994-1999); and School of Medicine Eminent Scholar (1999). He has also served as president of the Bloomington and University faculty councils. His lab studies molecular mechanisms controlling phospholipid organization in biological membranes in health and disease, with an emphasis on the effects of diabetes on membrane lipid organization and the characterization and identification of phospholipid transporters, or "flippases." For more information on Daleke, see

Plale serves as associate dean of research and is the founder and director of the Center for Data and Search Informatics (DSI) in the School of Informatics, as well as associate professor in the Department of Computer Science. Plale is on the leadership team of several major grant funded projects including the large National Science Foundation funded LEAD project in cyber-infrastructure for mesoscale meteorology forecasting. She is a faculty advisor to the Office of Women's Affairs Women in Science Program and for the Midwest Crossroads Alliance for Graduate Education and the Professoriate, as well as co-founder of Women in Computing @IU (2001). Plale received a Ph.D. in computer science (1998) from the State University of New York (SUNY). Her research focuses on data management in e-science, provenance and metadata of digital data, complex events processing and analysis, and data storage and access of high volume data. She is a recipient of the prestigious U.S. Department of Energy Early Career Award and has authored or co-authored more than 65 publications. For more information on Plale, see

Reynolds is associate dean for research and graduate studies in the School of Journalism. She teaches law and broadcast journalism. Prior to joining the IU faculty (2000), she was an assistant professor at the University of Oklahoma and at Miami University of Ohio. Her Ph.D. is from the University of Texas (1998). She has previous journalism experience as a television reporter, producer and news director. Reynolds' research focuses on dissent and the First Amendment, including how the abolitionists conceptualized their free speech/free press rights in the early 19th century. She has published numerous articles and just finished her fourth book, Terrorism and the Press: An Uneasy Relationship, with Brooke Barnett. She is currently writing her fifth book about early 20th century press criticism, due out at the end of 2009. For more information on Reynolds, see

Throughout the CIC's 50-year history of effective voluntary cooperation, it has proved to be an effective mechanism for enabling its members to accomplish more by working collectively. The primary objective of the ALP program is to develop the leadership and managerial skills of faculty who have demonstrated exceptional ability and administrative promise.

Find more about the consortium and the ALP program at