Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Media Contacts

Nick Clark

Last modified: Tuesday, December 9, 2008

IU Graduate and Professional Student Organization announces travel award winners

Dec. 9, 2008

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- Each semester, the Indiana University Graduate Professional Student Organization awards $3,000 in Travel Awards for graduate and professional students to support expenses for events that promote academic and professional development (such as conferences, workshops, competitions and auditions).

Funds may be used for registration fees, presentation materials, transportation costs, lodging and per diem expenses. The recipients are selected through a competitive process in which fellow graduate and professional students review and assess anonymous applications. The GPSO received 45 applications for the fall semester and eight were selected.

This semester's winners are:

  • Nicholas Henriksen, Hispanic Linguistics
  • Marda Rose, Hispanic Linguistics
  • Jonathon Pettit, Department of Religious Studies
  • Lauren Boyle, Health Behavior
  • Shameem Farouk, Human Performance Technology
  • Zohra Ismail, Socio-Cultural Anthropology
  • Dunia Mendez Vallejo, Linguistics
  • Jihyun Nam, Language Education

The GPSO Travel Awards are made possible by generous support from the University Graduate School. More information about the Travel Awards can be found at

The GPSO is the formally recognized government for graduate and professional students at Indiana University.

Questions can be directed to Nick Clark, the GPSO Moderator, at or at 812-391-0573.