Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Last modified: Monday, January 26, 2009

Search committee formed to fill post of vice president for research

Jan. 26, 2009

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- Indiana University President Michael A. McRobbie announced today (Jan. 26) that he has appointed a 17-member committee of faculty members, administrators and graduate students to begin a nationwide search to fill the position of vice president for research, a position held by McRobbie until his appointment as president in 2007.

The panel will be chaired by Michael Wade, a distinguished professor of biology at IU Bloomington and a fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. Its mission is to identify a slate of finalists from whom McRobbie will make a final choice to fill the position.

"I am extremely pleased that Mike Wade has agreed to lead this important search," McRobbie said. "Mike is an extraordinarily accomplished and prolific research scientist, and he and the other distinguished members of the committee understand the importance of having strong leadership in this crucial position to continue to build excellence in research at IU."

McRobbie added, "President Obama has made a strong commitment to the national scientific enterprise, and we also need to ensure we are doing all we can to obtain funding from the new and revitalized federal programs in science and research that have been proposed. This is particularly important when we are also facing a very difficult economic climate and need to ensure we are doing all we can to maximize external funding support for our core research activities."

The position of vice president for research will have similar though expanded responsibilities to those of the position previously held by McRobbie. The vice president for research will play a major role in the continued building of excellence in research at Indiana University working with various university offices, campus leadership and the deans.

Particular emphasis will be given to expanding intercampus research. The person chosen will be responsible for research development, research compliance and research administration at Indiana University.

The individual will be expected to increase and diversify research and creative works as well as external funding for these activities, and develop public-private partnerships, technology transfer and graduate education opportunities.

This will include establishing and strengthening collaborative efforts with Purdue University, local and national businesses and industries, and state and federal granting agencies. The person selected will also be expected to represent and advocate for the IU research enterprise nationally and internationally.

This position will also reduce by one the number of IU vice-presidencies by combining the research-related portfolios of two existing vice presidential portfolios -- those of the vice president for life sciences, Dr. Craig Brater, who is also dean of the IU School of Medicine, and the interim vice president for research administration, Dr. Ora Pescovitz, who is also president and CEO of Riley Hospital for Children and executive associate dean for research affairs at the IU School of Medicine. Both will continue with their administrative responsibilities at the School of Medicine and hospital.

Also appointed to the committee were:

  • Pavel Bleher, professor of mathematics, School of Science, IUPUI
  • Victoria Champion, professor IU School of Nursing
  • Geoffrey Conrad, director, New Frontiers in the Arts and Humanities Program and professor of anthropology, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Russell Hanson, professor of political science, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Kevin Ladd, professor of psychology, IU South Bend
  • Steve Martin, associate vice president, Office of Research Administration
  • Sharon Moe, professor, IU School of Medicine
  • James Musser, professor of physics, College of Arts and Sciences and interim director, Indiana University Cyclotron Facility
  • Beth Plale professor, IU School of Informatics
  • John Talbott, assistant vice president, Office of Research Administration
  • William Tierney, professor, IU School of Medicine
  • Theodore Widlanski, associate vice president, Office of Engagement and professor of chemistry, College of Arts and Sciences
  • David Wilkes, professor, IU School of Medicine

Graduate students committee members will be named at a later date.

John Applegate, vice president for planning and policy, will serve as an ex officio and non-voting member.