Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Last modified: Thursday, February 5, 2009

IU's Joel Meier receives Paul K. Petzoldt Award

Feb. 5, 2009

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- Educator, scholar, and avid outdoorsman, Joel Meier, professor emeritus in Indiana University Bloomington's School of Health, Physical Education and Recreation, is this year's winner of the Paul K. Petzoldt award from the Wilderness Education Association (WEA).

"Dr. Joel Meier has been a passionate leader for outdoor recreation for decades. His research and instruction in risk and outdoor experiences is of the highest quality and cited by industry leaders and scholars," said David Compton, chair of the School of HPER's Department of Recreation, Park, and Tourism Studies, where Meier is professor emeritus. "He is a pioneer who clearly represents the spirit of Paul Petzoldt."

Each year the WEA recognizes and acknowledges outstanding achievements in outdoor leadership with the Paul K. Petzoldt Award. The WEA was founded in 1977 by Paul Petzoldt, Frank Lupton, Robert Christie and Charles Gregory as a means to train outdoor leaders to safely lead and teach the public about appropriate use of wilderness areas. The WEA is comprised of more than 40 organizational affiliates -- primarily colleges and universities -- that help to promote this mission.

Below are some of Meier's career highlights:

  • Former associate dean and professor emeritus, School of Forestry, University of Montana
  • Former chair of the School of HPER's Department of Recreation Park and Tourism Studies
  • President, American Alliance for Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance (AAHPERD), 1989-90
  • President, American Association for Leisure and Recreation (AALR), 1978-79
  • President, American Leisure Academy (ALA), 2002-03
  • Recipient of AAHPERD's Luther Halsey Gulick Award; SPRE Distinguished Colleague Award; AALR J. B. Nash Scholar Award; ALA Scholar Lecturer Award; Julian Smith Award of the Council on Outdoor Education
  • Fulbright Scholar Appointment at the University of Otago, New Zealand
  • Member, American Academy for Park and Recreation Administration, and ALA Senior Fellow
  • Member and former chair, North American Society of Health, Physical Education, Recreation, Sport and Dance Professionals