Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Media Contacts

James Boyd
IU Maurer School of Law
(812) 856-1497

Andrea Havill
Asst. Dean for Alumni Relations
(812) 855-3015

Last modified: Tuesday, February 10, 2009

2009 Academy of Law Alumni Fellows announced

Feb. 10, 2009

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- Six Indiana University Maurer School of Law alumni will be inducted this April into the Academy of Law Alumni Fellows, the highest honor the law school bestows upon its graduates.

The awards go to alumni who have distinguished themselves in their careers through personal achievements and dedication to the highest standards of the profession. Previous honorees include U.S. senators, federal judges and managing partners of national law firms.

The 2009 inductees include the law school's first black graduate, a California attorney who successfully fought the conviction of a teenage murder suspect, and a Sagamore of the Wabash recipient. The Fellows to be inducted are:

• Samuel S. Dargan, 1909 (posthumously). The first black graduate of the law school became the curator of the Law Library in 1924, befriending other distinguished alumni such as Wendell Willkie and Sherman Minton along the way.

• Francina A. Dlouhy, JD'77. A partner at Baker & Daniels, Dlouhy has been named a Sagamore of the Wabash and has consistently been recognized as one of the Top 25 Women Attorneys in Indiana by Super Lawyers.

• Robert A. Long, JD'71. Long, a former managing partner at Latham & Watkins in Los Angeles, agreed to work on the habeas case of a 16-year-old boy convicted of murder. After seven years, the conviction was vacated, and the appeals process was documented in the award-winning documentary film Mario's Story.

• Arthur M. Lotz, JD'65. Lotz has devoted his professional life to the progress and success of the law school, helping establish the foundation of the school's alumni and development programs. The law school's Office of Alumni and Development was named in his honor in 2004.

• Lloyd H. Milliken Jr., JD'60. Milliken's 46 years at Locke Reynolds LLP in Indianapolis included an investigative effort that revealed NBC rigged simulated crash tests in a television segment. His work led to an unprecedented apology by "Dateline NBC" and established new standards for fairness in investigative journalism.

• Milton R. Stewart, JD'71. An expert in law surrounding manufacturing, distribution, and retailing enterprises, Stewart was named a 2006 Super Lawyer and a 2002 recipient of the Rella Lossy Professional Achievement Award. In 2007, he took a one-year leave of absence to serve as special counsel to the executive vice president and general counsel of AIG Corp.

The ALAF recipients will be inducted April 17 at the Bloomington Convention Center, after the school's spring Board of Visitors and Law Alumni Board meetings.