Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Media Contacts

Kirstine Lindemann
College of Arts and Sciences

David Bricker
University Communications

Last modified: Thursday, April 9, 2009

IU Bloomington science students to receive Barry Goldwater scholarships

April 9, 2009

Two College of Arts and Sciences undergraduates at Indiana University Bloomington are 2009 Goldwater Scholars.

Weinzapfel photo

Ellen Weinzapfel

Print-Quality Photo

Ellen Weinzapfel and Kaleb Naegeli, juniors double majoring in biology and neuroscience, will receive one-year scholarships that cover the cost of tuition, fees, books, and room and board up to a maximum of $7,500.

"The Goldwater Scholarship is a very prestigious and competitive award, with a long record of rewarding future leaders in the sciences, mathematics and engineering," said Bennett I. Bertenthal, dean of the Indiana University College of Arts and Sciences. "We are delighted to have two of our students recognized for their hard work and academic achievements, which is also a testament to the excellence of the faculty members who serve as their mentors. We congratulate Ellen and Kaleb for earning these honors."

Weinzapfel is a participant in the IU STARS program, which provides young scientists-in-training with extensive research training. She told the Goldwater Foundation she wants to pursue a "career in stem cell research" and establish "a lab in a hospital or medical-based setting." Weinzapfel's research mentor is bacteriologist Yves Brun, the Clyde Culbertson Professor of Biology. Weinzapfel was also the recipient of a Beckman Scholars Program award in 2008.

Kaleb Naegeli is also in the IU STARS program. He has been the recipient of a Gill Scholarship. Naegeli told the Goldwater Foundation he is interested in "basic research in medicine, studying cancer, virology, or some other mechanism of disease." His research mentor is Ken Nephew, a professor of cellular and integrative physiology and obstetrics and gynecology in Medical Sciences Program Bloomington.

Weinzapfel and Naegeli (who also both participated in the Integrated Freshman Learning Experience, which combines a summer research component with an inquiry-based advanced freshman course) are IU's 11th and 12th Goldwater Scholars since 2000, and two of the five undergraduates from the state of Indiana to receive Goldwater scholarships this year. A total of 278 scholarships were awarded to young scientists-in-training from across the country.

The Goldwater Foundation is a federally endowed agency established by Public Law 99-661 on Nov. 14, 1986. The scholarship program honoring Sen. Barry M. Goldwater was designed to foster and encourage outstanding students to pursue careers in the fields of mathematics, the natural sciences, and engineering. In its 21-year history, the foundation has awarded 5,801 scholarships worth approximately $56 million. The trustees of the foundation plan to award about 300 scholarships for the 2010-11 academic year.

To speak with Bennett I. Bertenthal, Ellen Weinzapfel, or Kaleb Naegeli, please contact Kirstine Lindemann, director of undergraduate academic affairs and senior academic assistant dean, at 812-855-8245 or