Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Media Contacts

James Boyd
IU Maurer School of Law
(812) 856-1497

Alumni honored by induction into ALAF

Five alumni from the Indiana University Maurer School of Law were inducted Friday (April 17) into the School's Academy of Law Alumni Fellows. Two other alumni were awarded President's Medals from the IU Foundation. Induction into the ALAF is the highest honor the Law School bestows upon its graduates, in recognition of personal achievements and dedication to the highest standards of the legal profession.

The 2009 ALAF inductees are Samuel S. Dargan, Francina A. Dlouhy, Robert A. Long, Arthur M. Lotz, Lloyd H. Milliken Jr., and Milton R. Stewart.

Photo by Ann Schertz

Robert A. Long, Lloyd H. Milliken Jr., Francina A. Dlouhy, Dean Lauren Robel, Milton R. Stewart, and Arthur M. Lotz prior to the 2009 Academy of Law Alumni Fellows induction ceremony. Samuel S. Dargan, the first African-American graduate of the Law School in 1909, was inducted posthumously.

"Virtually everything I am, and virtually everything I've achieved, I owe to this university and to the three years I spent at this college of law," said Stewart. "I am eternally grateful for what you've given me."

Dlouhy said she was honored to be chosen for induction into the ALAF. "I'm grateful for the recognition. This induction is very meaningful to me, because there is not a day that goes by where I don't use something I learned at this law school."

For Long, the recognition was the culmination of service to both Indiana Law and the clients he represented over the course of a successful career.

"My experience at the Law School transformed my life in terms of what I've been able to achieve professionally and who I am today," Long said. "I've been blessed for the opportunity to have attended IU and its Law School."

The 2009 ALAF inductees achieved numerous distinctions, both personally and professionally:

  • Samuel S. Dargan, 1909 (posthumously). Dargan was the first African-American graduate of the Law School, and began working for the Law Library after earning his LLB. He became curator of the library in 1924, a position he held he retired in 1948. Known as the "father" of the Law School, Dargan would regularly dispense both advice and his own money for students in need. He died in 1954 and was inducted into the Monroe County Hall of Fame in 1988.
  • Francina A. Dlouhy, JD'77. Dlouhy, a partner at Baker & Daniels, is considered one of the leading tax lawyers in America. She has represented clients around the country and throughout Indiana in tax planning and litigation. Dlouhy has used her knowledge of tax and economic incentives to promote job creation and capital expansion throughout the state. She has been listed in The Best Lawyers in America for more than 20 years, named an Indiana Super Lawyer, and received Indiana's highest civilian honor, the Sagamore of the Wabash.
  • Robert A. Long, JD'71. Long spent his entire career with Latham & Watkins LLP in Los Angeles, where he served as managing partner from 1992 to 1997 and held a variety of management roles prior to that time. As a business litigator and trial lawyer, Long represented many of the country's leading aerospace and computer companies. He was elected to the American College of Trial Lawyers in 1999. His pro bono work for Mario Rocha, a 16-year-old convicted of murder, led to an overturned conviction in 2008. The eight-year fight to secure Rocha's freedom was the subject of a documentary film, Mario's Story.
  • Arthur M. Lotz, JD'65. Lotz graduated from Indiana Law in 1965 after serving for 10 years in the U.S. Air Force. After working in the IU Treasurer's office and for the IU Alumni Association, Lotz joined the Law School as its assistant dean for placement and bar relations in 1978. He became the assistant dean for budget administration, bar relations, and development in 1980, the position he held until he retired in 1996. Under Lotz's direction, the School's annual fund rose from less than $50,000 per year to more than $800,000 per year in 1996. He was instrumental in securing support and funding for major renovations to the Law School during the 1980's. The School's Office of Alumni and Development is named in his honor.
  • Lloyd H. Milliken Jr., JD'60. Milliken has spent his entire career with Locke Reynolds, which recently merged with Frost Brown Todd, and has achieved national recognition for his work as a trial lawyer and leader of the defense bar. His practice has focused primarily on representing defendants in product liability cases. Milliken gained national recognition for his service as Indiana counsel as for General Motors in the litigation against NBC arising out of the Dateline program that misrepresented the effect of high-speed crashes involving GM trucks. He has been inducted into the American College of Trial Lawyers and was named the Defense Trial Counsel of Indiana's Defense Lawyer of the Year in 1993. In 2007, Milliken was elected the inaugural president of the National Foundation for Judicial Excellence and received the Defense Research Institute's Louis B. Potter Lifetime Professional Services award.
  • Milton R. Stewart, JD'71. Stewart settled at the firm of Davis Wright Tremaine in Portland, Ore., after serving in the U.S. Army. He served for 13 years on the Firm Management (Executive) Committee and currently serves as its Client Relations Partner. Stewart's practice has focused on structuring merger and acquisition transactions, reorganizations, and management buyouts. He is the author of International Joint Ventures: A Practicum for the Journal of the Association of Corporate Counsel, and co-authored Mergers & Acquisition Law 2007 and Winning Legal Strategies for Mergers & Acquisitions. His peers named him a "Super Lawyer" in 2006, and he is the recipient of the Rella Lossy Award from the Legal Marketing Association, Bay Area Chapter. In 2007, Stewart spent a year in New York City serving as special counsel to AIG Corporation.

IU Foundation President and CEO Gene Tempel also awarded President's Medals to V. William Hunt, JD'69, and Robert Kassing, JD'64, to recognize their deep commitment to fundraising efforts on behalf of the university and the Law School.

"We have a better university and a better Law School because of Bill Hunt and Bob Kassing," Tempel said. "The [School] will be forever different because of their work."