Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Media Contacts

Sarah Booher
IU Office of Scholarships

Last modified: Thursday, May 7, 2009

IU Bloomington’s first Herbert Presidential Scholars honored

May 7, 2009

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- Four years after starting classes at Indiana University Bloomington, the first-ever class of Adam W. Herbert Presidential Scholars were honored with an inaugural Herbert Presidential Scholars Senior Reception Thursday, April 30, at the Woodburn House. The Indiana University Office of Scholarships hosted the event.

"It was an honor to recognize the inaugural graduating class of Herbert Presidential Scholars, who have achieved great things at Indiana University, and will continue their success as IU alumni," said Sarah Booher, director of scholarships at IU. "It was a momentous occasion for the scholars, as well as the program's history."

Herbert Presidential Scholars

Photo by Chris Meyer

From left are Laura Plummer (Campus Writing Program), Joshua Robinson (Herbert Presidential Scholar) and Sean McGuire (College of Arts and Sciences). Robinson will go on to study optometry in Chicago.

Print-Quality Photo

The 16 scholars, some of whom will graduate this weekend, and many of whom attended the reception, were awarded the scholarships in 2005, the first year they became available.

The program was created by President Emeritus Adam W. Herbert during his tenure at IU (2003-2007) and is considered one of the most prestigious scholarships offered to IU students. Originally called the Hoosier Presidential Scholars Program, it was renamed the Adam W. Herbert Presidential Scholarship by the IU Board of Trustees In 2007 to honor Herbert and his commitment to talented Hoosiers.

Herbert Scholars are selected from across the state based upon exceptional talents, diversity, interests, outstanding academic records and strong leadership skills through school and community activities. Additionally, many Herbert Presidential Scholars have overcome personal challenges or other obstacles and have shown great potential and motivation to succeed.

"From the very beginning of my college experience at Indiana University nearly four years ago, the Herbert Presidential Scholars program enriched my time here by serving as a catalyst for cross-campus networking, academic and extracurricular exploration, and connection with IU at its highest levels," said Billy Bennett, one of the graduating Herbert Presidential Scholars at the reception. "The sum of these is a deep sense of empowerment." Bennett has accepted a position with McKinsey & Co. in Minneapolis.

Each Herbert Presidential Scholar received a plaque, as well as a personalized letter sent from President Emeritus Herbert. Additionally, they each had the opportunity to recognize an IU faculty or staff member who had made a significant impact on their academic experience. The honored faculty members also received plaques in recognition of their contribution to student success. The honored faculty and staff members included James Biles, Geography Department; Peter Cherbas, Department of Biology; Vivian Halloran, Department of Comparative Literature; Bruce Jaffee, Kelley School of Business; Nancy Levene, Department of Religious Studies; and Laura Plummer, Campus Writing Program.

"The success of the Herbert Presidential Scholars program has been confirmed in many ways over the last four years, but nothing like this past semester," said Jack Schmit, director of grant procurement and student support and coordinator of the Herbert Presidential Scholars grant. "Getting a chance to listen to these students as they reflected upon their last four years at Indiana University told the entire story. A 'life changing' experience was a common theme throughout."

IU Bloomington's Herbert Presidential Scholars program has grown significantly over the past four years. A freshman class of 54 Herbert Presidential Scholars is expected to arrive in Bloomington in the fall of 2009.

Inaugural IU Bloomington Herbert Presidential Scholars, all from Indiana, are:

  • Rishi Ardeshna, Fort Wayne
  • Brian Beesley, Noblesville
  • Billy Bennett, Indianapolis
  • Sophie Faught, Indianapolis
  • Stephen Frantz, Goshen
  • Dmitrii Gabrielov, West Lafayette
  • Lindsay Gibson, Indianapolis
  • Alison Howard, Terre Haute
  • Kyla King, Royal Center
  • Brenden Krodel, Jasper
  • Nicholas Marshall, Fort Wayne
  • Jennifer Miller, Sellersburg
  • Adam Molon, Wheatfield
  • Joshua Robinson, Goshen
  • Stephanie Rumage, Lamar
  • Matthew Wiegman, New Albany