Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Media Contacts

Larry MacIntyre
University Communications

George Vlahakis
University Communications

Last modified: Tuesday, June 30, 2009

Eskew re-elected by alumni as IU trustee

June 30, 2008

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- Indiana University alumni elected Philip N. Eskew Jr. to a second three-year term as an IU trustee today (June 30). Eskew, who was first elected in 2006, received 9,173 of the 29,300 valid votes cast.

Philip N. Eskew, Jr.

Philip N. Eskew Jr.

Print-Quality Photo

Eskew, 67, who earned a Bachelor of Arts degree in 1963 from DePauw University and a Doctor of Medicine degree in 1970 from the IU School of Medicine, is the retired director of physician and patient relations at St. Vincent Hospital in Indianapolis. He has served the university in several capacities. He is a clinical professor in the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology at the IU School of Medicine and a life member of the IU Alumni Association.

Eskew has served as national vice president of the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, past president of the Carmel Rotary Club, the prematurity medical chair of the March of Dimes, and colonel in the Indiana Guard Reserve. He also is president of the Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame.

"I knew that I had very strong competition running against me in this election," Eskew said. "I think that this is a statement in support of what we as trustees have been working toward at Indiana University.

"In the past three years, we hired President McRobbie, and we have supported his work toward raising the profile of the university as an excellent educational system and an excellent research university," Eskew added. "We've also restored the integrity of the athletics department, I think."

Other candidates and their vote totals were:

  • MaryEllen Bishop, Carmel, Ind. -- 6,642
  • Crystal Brown, Indianapolis -- 6,052
  • Samuel Locke, Floyds Knobs, Ind. -- 4,702
  • Kelly Smith, Fishers, Ind. -- 2,731

This was the second year that alumni could vote online, and 18,083 ballots were cast in that manner. There were 11,217 valid paper ballots. In 2010, alumni will be sent a postcard, which they will have to return in order to receive a paper ballot.

Due to a lack of signatures, 591 paper ballots were declared invalid. On the day of the election, 56 ballots or envelopes were voided for various reasons, including the ballots being blank, some showing votes for more than one candidate and empty envelopes. Other envelopes contained blank ballots with notes explaining that the recipient was deceased or asking to be removed from the mailing list.

IU has nine trustees, three of whom are elected by alumni. The other two alumni trustees are Patrick A. Shoulders, Evansville, Ind., who was re-elected in 2008; and Sue H. Talbot of Bloomington, Ind., who was re-elected in 2007. Shoulders' current term will expire in 2011, and Talbot's term expires in 2010. The remaining trustees are appointed by the governor.