Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Media Contacts

Larry MacIntyre
University Communications

Last modified: Thursday, July 16, 2009

Cast nominated to serve as president of IU Board of Trustees

July 16, 2009

INDIANAPOLIS -- Dr. William R. Cast, a Fort Wayne physician and surgeon, has been nominated to serve as president of the Indiana University Board of Trustees for 2009-11.

The board's nominating committee met today (July 16) in Indianapolis to select a slate of officers for the next two years. The committee nominated Patrick A. Shoulders of Evansville to serve as vice president.

Cast will succeed Stephen L. Ferguson, who will step down as president, as required by trustee bylaws, after serving two consecutive two-year term. The Board of Trustees will vote on the election of officers at its next meeting Aug. 14 at Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis.

Robin Roy Gress was nominated to serve as secretary, Dorothy Frapwell as assistant secretary, MaryFrances McCourt as treasurer and Stewart T. Cobine as assistant treasurer.

Cast is CEO of NoMoreClipboard, an online, patient-controlled personal health record management system. He served as president of Ear, Nose & Throat Specialists, a private medical practice in Fort Wayne, and was founder and first chairman of DuPont Hospital in Fort Wayne. He was one of the founders of the Canterbury School, a pre-kindergarten through 12th grade school in Fort Wayne.

Indiana Gov. Mitch Daniels appointed Cast to the Board of Trustees in July 2005 and reappointed him to a second three-year term in July 2008. Cast is a graduate of IU and of the IU School of Medicine.

Shoulders joined the board in 2001. He was elected to three-year terms by IU alumni in 2005 and 2008. He is an attorney with the firm of Ziemer, Stayman, Weitzel & Shoulders and has undergraduate and law degrees from IU.

Ferguson, a member of the Board of Trustees since 1998, is chairman and executive vice president of Cook Group Inc. in Bloomington. He has served as board president since August 2005. Bylaws limit members to serving two consecutive two-year terms as president.

Ferguson's tenure as president has included the appointment of Michael A. McRobbie as university president, continued growth in enrollment, the development of new master plans for the Bloomington and Indianapolis campuses, and the promotion of research partnerships, particularly in the life sciences, with Purdue University and other state institutions.

The Board of Trustees is the governing board, legal owner and final authority of Indiana University, holding the university's financial, physical and human assets and operations in trust for future generations. Its membership, terms of office, responsibilities, powers and electoral procedures are governed by state law.