Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Media Contacts

Sue Artmeier
Johnson Center for Entrepreneurship and Innovation

George Vlahakis
University Communications

Last modified: Wednesday, October 28, 2009

Kelley School of Business entrepreneurship faculty recognized with global award for research

Oct. 28, 2009

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- Indiana University's Kelley School of Business has been named winner of the 2009 Award for Exceptional Contributions in Entrepreneurship Research by the Global Consortium of Entrepreneurship Centers (GCEC). The award was presented at the annual conference held this month in Houston, Texas.

Donald F. Kuratko

Donald F. Kuratko

Print-Quality Photo

Accepting on behalf of the Kelley School's entrepreneurship faculty was Donald F. Kuratko, the Jack M. Gill Chair of Entrepreneurship and executive director of the Johnson Center for Entrepreneurship and Innovation.

In his acceptance speech, Kuratko highlighted the enormous contributions of the Kelley School entrepreneurship faculty and the worldwide respect they have developed. "IU's Kelley School of Business stands as a world leader in entrepreneurship. The research generated here is extensive and transformative as it will guide future researchers in the years to come," he said.

The award recognizes a business school where the faculty is dedicated to advancing and supporting the creation and creators of new entrepreneurship knowledge. The award criteria is based upon the individual faculty members' research agenda, published research, journal management, research grants, value of the publications and their profiles. The judges are a peer group of entrepreneurship professors from around the globe.

According to the judges, the Kelley School exemplified the very best in entrepreneurship research, excelling in every category. Some of the outstanding research faculty include: Dean A. Shepherd, Jeffrey G. Covin, Patricia P. McDougall, Donald F. Kuratko, Jeffery S. McMullen, David B. Audretsch, Gregory F. Udell, Marc J. Dollinger, Siri Terjesen, Catherine M. Dalton, Dan R. Dalton, Todd Saxton and Thomas P. Hustad.

Dan Smith, dean of the Kelley School, said, "I am very proud of this latest award as it is another validation that we are making a global impact in the world of entrepreneurship. At the Kelley School, our faculty represents the very best researchers in their fields and this award exemplifies how the entrepreneurship faculty stands at the top of their field."

The Global Consortium of Entrepreneurship Centers (GCEC) was established in 1997 for the purpose of becoming the key junction for university-based entrepreneurship centers across the world to collaborate, communicate and jointly advance excellence in entrepreneurship through the unique role and position of the centers in the academic and business communities.

Today, GCEC stands as the premier leadership organization addressing the emerging topics of importance to university-based centers for entrepreneurship. The consortium is comprised of more than 300 entrepreneurship centers across the globe.