Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Media Contacts

Susan Williams
IU Media Relations

Jane Jankowski
IU Media Relations

Last modified: Thursday, February 5, 2004

Founders Day to recognize outstanding faculty, students

Indiana University will honor its outstanding faculty members and students at the annual Founders Day celebration, to be held Feb. 28 at 11 a.m. in Assembly Hall on the Bloomington campus.

Nineteen faculty members and two doctoral students will be recognized for outstanding teaching, research or service to the university. The award recipients teach at IU's Bloomington, Indianapolis, South Bend and Richmond campuses.

Four faculty members from three campuses have been chosen to receive the President's Award, established in 1974 to recognize outstanding teaching, research or service on all of IU's campuses. They are Juanita Keck, professor of nursing and chair of the Department of Adult Health at IUPUI; Daniel P. Maki, professor of mathematics and chair of the Department of Mathematics at IU Bloomington; Rebecca L. Torstrick, associate professor of anthropology at IU South Bend; and Eric R. Wright, associate professor of sociology at IUPUI.

Neil Sabine, associate professor of biology at IU East, will receive the Herman Frederic Lieber Memorial Award for distinguished teaching. The Frederic Bachman Lieber Memorial Award, which also recognizes outstanding teaching, will go to Jerome C. Harste, professor of education at IU Bloomington.

The Frederic Bachman Lieber Award was established in 1954 by Katie D. Bachman in honor of her grandson. The Herman Frederic Lieber Award was originally sponsored by the IU Foundation and is now sponsored by Mrs. Herman Lieber of Indianapolis.

Martha M. McCarthy, Chancellor's Professor of Education at IU Bloomington, will receive the Sylvia E. Bowman Award. Bowman, a respected scholar and author, gave 34 years of service to IU as a professor, academic administrator and chancellor for regional campus administration. The Bowman Award, established in 1994, honors exemplary faculty members in discipline areas related to American civilization.

Paul L. Jamison, professor of anthropology and director of graduate studies in the Department of Anthropology at IU Bloomington, will receive the Wilbert Hites Mentoring Award. The award was established by Ronald A. Hites, Distinguished Professor of Public and Environmental Affairs at IU Bloomington, in honor of his late father. Hites Award recipients must display outstanding mentoring qualities that provide students or colleagues with the academic support, advice and encouragement needed to establish their own career and educational goals.

Named as recipients of the John W. Ryan Award for distinguished contributions to international programs are Joseph J. Mamlin, professor emeritus of medicine at IU School of Medicine, and Russell O. Salmon, associate professor emeritus of Spanish and Portuguese at IU Bloomington.

The Ryan Award was initiated in 1991 and named for the man who was president of IU from 1971 to 1987. Ryan, now president emeritus, was instrumental in fostering IU's commitment to excellence in international education. The award honors faculty members or librarians who have made exceptional contributions to the university's international programs and studies.

The W. George Pinnell Award for Outstanding Service will be given to George E. Edwards, professor of law at IUPUI; Alvin H. Rosenfeld, professor of English and of Jewish studies and director of the Jewish Studies Program at IU Bloomington; and Ashton I. Veramallay, professor of economics and director of the Center for Economic Education at IU East.

The University Faculty Council established the Pinnell Award in 1988, honoring the memory of the former executive vice president of the university who also served during his career as president of the IU Foundation and dean of IU's Kelley School of Business. Pinnell was known for his stewardship, leadership, initiative and service to the university, the state and the national government. The award recognizes faculty members or librarians who have shown exceptional breadth of involvement and depth of commitment in service to the university, their profession or the public.

Four professors will be elevated to the rank of distinguished professor -- Hal E. Broxmeyer, professor of medicine, Mary Margaret Walther Professor of Microbiology and Immunology, scientific director of Walther Oncology Center, and chair of the Department of Microbiology and Immunology at the IU School of Medicine; Timothy R. Noble, professor of music at IU Bloomington, Loren H. Rieseberg, Class of '54 Professor of Biology at IU Bloomington; and David P. Thelen, professor of history and editor of the Journal of American History at IU Bloomington.

The Part-Time Teaching Award goes to two recipients: M. Jan Keffer, associate professor of nursing at IUPUI, and Christine Rogan, adjunct instructor of music at IU East.

Two IU Bloomington doctoral students will receive the Lieber Memorial Teaching Associate Award. They are Melissa Jones in English and Judith Longfield in education.

Certificates for students who have earned academic honors will be distributed immediately following the ceremony at a reception at the Mellencamp Pavilion.