Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Media Contacts

Jana Wilson
School of Public and Environmental Affairs

Steve Hinnefeld
University Communications

Last modified: Wednesday, December 2, 2009

SPEA dean named fellow of National Academy of Public Administration

Dec. 2, 2009

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- John D. Graham, dean of the Indiana University School of Public and Environmental Affairs, has been named a fellow of the National Academy of Public Administration, a nonprofit, independent coalition of top management and organizational leaders.

The 2009 class of fellows was announced at the Academy's fall meeting Nov. 19-20 in Washington, D.C.

The National Academy of Public Administration was established in 1967 and is chartered by Congress. It has an experienced professional staff and a network of more than 650 distinguished fellows whose expertise is frequently called upon to tackle the nation's most critical and complex challenges.

Graham is one of 34 members of the 2009 class of Fellows. Others include university professors and deans, officials with government agencies, leaders of businesses and consulting firms, city managers and the directors of organizations such as the American Society for Public Administration and the American Public Health Association.

Graham became the fourth dean of the IU School of Public and Academic Affairs in August 2008. He previously was dean of the Pardee RAND Graduate School and was founding director of the Center for Risk Analysis at the Harvard School of Public Health.

He was administrator of the Office of Information and Regulatory Affairs in the White House Office of Management and Budget from 2001 to 2006. His research areas include government reform, energy and the environment, and the future of the automobile in both developed and developing countries

Fellows of the National Academy of Public Administration include professional managers and scholars, business executives, labor leaders, Cabinet officers, members of Congress, mayors, legislators, governors and diplomats, selected on the basis of contributions to the field of public administration. Fellows are the Academy's primary vehicle for addressing emerging issues and contributing to intellectual and popular discourse on issues of governance.

IU School of Public and Environmental Affairs faculty members who previously were named fellows of the Academy include former IU Presidents Adam W. Herbert Jr. and John W. Ryan, former SPEA Deans Charles Bonser and A. James Barnes, and professors Lisa Blomgren Bingham, Leslie Lenkowsky and James L. Perry.

For more information, see