Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Football's Doss, Kirlew, Saffold named All-Big Ten

December 2, 2009

Sophomore wide receiver Tandon Doss, fifth-year defensive end Jammie Kirlew and senior left tackle Rodger Saffold earned All-Big Ten honors, the conference announced Monday (Nov. 23) evening. Doss collected first team accolades from the conference media and second team laurels from the conference coaches, while Kirlew garnered second team honors from both groups. Saffold was named a second team member by the coaches.

Doss image

IU Athletics photo by Mike Dickbernd

Tandon Doss

Senior cornerback Ray Fisher, linebacker Matt Mayberry, defensive end Greg Middleton and Saffold received honorable mention recognition from the media, and junior quarterback Ben Chappell, Fisher and Mayberry carded honorable mention from the coaches. Kirlew was also Indiana's Big Ten Sportsmanship Award honoree.

Doss led the team in receptions in nine games and receiving yards eight times, and he paced the team with 962 yards, 77 receptions, five touchdowns and 80.2 yards per game. The Indianapolis native finished second in the Big Ten and 27th nationally in yards per game and third in the league and tied for 21 nationally in catches per game (6.64).

His 962 yards were 14th in the country and the second most for an underclassman. Doss closed out the year second on IU's single-season receptions list, just two shy of James Hardy's record of 79 in 2007, and fifth in the school's single-season yardage rankings.

Along with his three 100-yard receiving games, Doss owned 533 kick return yards, 127 rushing yards, 44 punt return yards and led the conference with 138.8 all-purpose yards per contest. He finished ninth on IU's single-season list with 1,666 all-purpose yards, surpassed 100 all-purpose yards in seven of the last nine games and eight times in 2009, including a season-best 242 against Purdue.

Kirlew, who was named the team's MVP for the second straight season on Sunday, is being recognized by the league for the second consecutive year. He was voted first team All-Big Ten by the media and second team by the coaches in 2008.

The Orlando native finished 2009 in the top 10 in the Big Ten in four major statistical categories. Kirlew was sixth in the league and 23rd nationally with 15.5 tackles for loss, tied for sixth in the conference with 6.5 sacks, third in the Big Ten and ninth nationally with five forced fumbles and shared third in the Big Ten and 29th nationally with two fumble recoveries.

He closed out his career tied for third on the Hoosiers' career sacks list with 23 and second on the career tackles-for-loss list with 52.5. Kirlew was also selected to the Ted Hendricks Defensive End of the Year Award Watch List, the Chuck Bednarik Award Watch List and the Rotary Lombardi Award Watch List in addition to being named a member of the 11-player Allstate AFCA Good Works Team and one of 10 finalists for the ARA Sportsmanship Award. He was also a candidate for the Lowe's Senior CLASS award (achievements in the classroom, character, community and competition).

Saffold earned his first recognition from the conference and is the first All-Big Ten Hoosier offensive lineman since Enoch Demar (second team, 2002). The Bedford, Ohio, native never left the starting lineup after sliding in at left tackle midway through his true freshman campaign. Saffold started 41 games and appeared in 42 in his career. In 2009, he started all 12 games protecting Chappell's blind side and the Hoosiers allowed just 16 sacks and one sack per 27.5 pass attempts, both of which ranked second in the Big Ten.