Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Media Contacts

Steve Hinnefeld
University Communications

Last modified: Monday, February 15, 2010

Media advisory: Elinor Ostrom to present Nobel lecture Tuesday at IU Auditorium

What: Nobel Prize lecture by Indiana University Professor Elinor Ostrom
When: Tuesday, Feb. 16, 4 p.m. to 5 p.m.
Where: Indiana University Auditorium, 1211 E. Seventh St.
Admission: Free and open to the public, no tickets required
Parking: Free for lecture patrons at IU's Atwater and Poplars garages, with shuttle service to and from the auditorium

Feb. 15, 2010

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- Indiana University Professor Elinor Ostrom, co-recipient of the 2009 Nobel Prize in economic sciences, will present an updated version of her Nobel Prize lecture for an IU and Indiana audience on Tuesday (Feb. 16) at the Indiana University Auditorium.

Elinor Ostrom

Photo by Chris Meyer

Elinor Ostrom

Print-Quality Photo

The program will take place from 4 p.m. to 5 p.m., with IU President Michael A. McRobbie introducing Ostrom. Admission is free and open to the public; tickets are not required.

Free parking for people attending the lecture will be available at IU's Poplars and Atwater garages, and a shuttle bus will run between the auditorium and the garages before and after the lecture.

Ostrom shared the 2009 Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel -- the Nobel Prize in economics -- with Oliver Williamson, emeritus professor of economics at the University of California, Berkeley. Ostrom is the first woman to receive the economics prize.

She said the lecture that she gives Tuesday will be based on, but not identical to, the Nobel lecture that she presented Dec. 8 in Stockholm, two days before receiving the award.

Ostrom is the Arthur F. Bentley Professor of Political Science in the College of Arts and Sciences and a professor in the School of Public and Environmental Affairs. She is also senior research director of IU's Workshop in Political Theory and Policy Analysis, which she co-founded with Vincent Ostrom in 1973, and founding director of the Center for the Study of Institutional Diversity at Arizona State University.