Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Media Contacts

Alain Barker
IU Jacobs School of Music

Last modified: Monday, March 1, 2010

Jacobs School Brass Concerto co-winners announced

March 1, 2010

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- The Indiana University Jacobs School of Music announces the co-winners of the Brass Department's Concerto Competition: trombonist Patrick Pfister, a student of Professor Carl Lenthe, and trumpeter Christopher Van Leeuwen, a student of Professor Edmund Cord.

From left to right: Carl Lenthe, Patrick Pfister, Chris Van Leeuwen and Edmund Cord

Print-Quality Photo

A second-year master's student from Minnesota, Pfister studied for his undergraduate degree at the University of Wisconsin, Madison, and was a co-winner of last year's competition. He is principal trombonist of the Columbus (Ind.) Symphony Orchestra and has performed with the National Repertory Orchestra and the Tanglewood Music Center Orchestra.

"I am extremely honored to win the Brass Concerto Competition this year with Chris Van Leeuwen," said Pfister. "This will be the first time I have played a solo with an orchestra, and I look forward to working with the energetic and wonderful conductor Uriel Segal."

Van Leeuwen, also a second-year master's student, is from Urbandale, Iowa, and studied for his undergraduate degree at the University of Northern Iowa. In May, he will represent the Jacobs School in Washington, D.C., as part of the Kennedy Center Conservatory Project.

Two concerts in the Musical Arts Center will feature the concerto winners.

Pfister will perform the Albrechtsberger Concerto for Alto Trombone and Strings April 18 at 3 p.m. with the University Orchestra, directed by Segal. Van Leeuwen will perform the Tomasi Concerto for Trumpet and Wind Ensemble with the IU Wind Ensemble, directed by Professor Stephen W. Pratt, April 22 at 8 p.m.

"This will be a rewarding concert for the audience," said Pfister of the April 18 event, which also includes Oboe Concerto in D Major by Richard Strauss and Symphony No.1 in C Minor, Op. 68, by Johannes Brahms. "It highlights some of the rarer solo instruments of the orchestra, such as the trombone and oboe. It presents diverse musical styles -- from the early Classical period to two radically different Romantic-style works by Strauss and Brahms."

Included in the April 18 concert will also be a performance by oboist Briana Tarby, winner of the Jacobs School's Woodwind Concerto Competition. For more information, see