Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Media Contacts

Cindy Miller
School of Health, Physical Education and Recreation

Last modified: Monday, March 1, 2010

Jerry Wilkerson named Ruth B. Glassow Award winner for achievements in biomechanics

March 1, 2010

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- Jerry Wilkerson, executive associate dean for Indiana University's School of Health, Physical Education and Recreation, has been named the recipient of the 2010 Ruth B. Glassow Award, which is given by the Biomechanics Academy Committee of the National Association for Sport and Physical Education (NASPE).

This national research and lifetime achievement award is presented in recognition of a member of the Biomechanics Academy committee for significant contributions in the biomechanics field. Wilkerson will receive her award at a ceremony on March 19 during the American Alliance for Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance national convention in Indianapolis.

Jerry Diana Wilkerson

Jerry Diana Wilkerson

Print-Quality Photo

Wilkerson, also a professor in the School of HPER's Department of Kinesiology, has focused much of her practical experience and teaching in the area of qualitative biomechanics, and has published many articles on the practical approaches to understanding movement. Throughout her career, Wilkerson has chaired 30 doctoral students in the area of kinesiology, and was nominated for this award by a former student, Darla Smith, the chair of the kinesiology department at the University of Texas El Paso.

NAPSE is an association of the American Alliance for Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance (AAHPERD), and promotes its mission to support leadership, research, education and best practices in the professions that support creative, healthy and active lifestyles.

Wilkerson is a lifetime member of NAPSE and is the former chair of the biomechanics academy, as well as former vice president of publications for the International Society of Biomechanics. She has also been host and editor of the Biomechanics Teaching Conferences.

The inaugural winner of the Ruth B. Glassow Award was IU Professor Emeritus John Cooper, who received the award in 1998, and was Wilkerson's mentor and chair of her doctoral dissertation. Four of his former students have been recipients of this award.

About the School of HPER

IU's School of Health, Physical Education and Recreation encompasses a broad spectrum of academic interests and professional fields. The School of HPER offers nearly 50 undergraduate and advanced degree programs through its departments of Applied Health Science, Kinesiology, and Recreation, Park and Tourism Studies. To further its health and wellness initiative, Campus Recreational Sports provides sport and fitness services for the IU community and the public. More information can be found at