Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Last modified: Tuesday, May 18, 2010

Recipients of IU Dean of Students Awards announced

April 15, 2010

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- Harold "Pete" Goldsmith, dean of students at Indiana University Bloomington, presented on April 14 the Dean's Awards to ten people and one program in recognition of outstanding contributions to the Division of Student Affairs on the Bloomington campus.

Nominations for the Dean's Awards are made by the division's staff members, and recipients are chosen by an award selections committee.

The recipients and their awards are:

  • McKaig Student Award -- Annie Raeder, senior in English, College of Arts and Sciences, from Mt. Prospect, Illinois;
  • Division Student Staff Award -- Alexandra Rosenberg, senior in human development and family studies, School of Health, Physical Education and Recreation;
  • Gordon Faculty Award -- Joan Linton, Department of English and Asian American Studies Program; Arlene Diaz, Latino Studies Program and Department of History; Valerie Grim, Department of African American and African Diaspora Studies;
  • Staff Award -- Dave Spencer, director, parent and special giving programs, IU Foundation;
  • Division Support Staff Award -- Loretta Saunders, program assistant, Career Development Center;
  • Shaffer Professional Staff Award -- Justin Grossman, associate director, Career Development Center;
  • Schreck Community Award -- Jean Boquist, special advocate, Student Advocates Office;
  • Campus Program Award -- Safe Sisters, joint program of the Sexual Assault Crisis Services and the Panhellenic Association;
  • Shoemaker Special Merit Award -- George Kuh, professor of education, Educational Leadership and Policy Studies, School of Education.

Several of the awards are designated in honor of the former deans of students who have served Indiana University at the Bloomington campus. The Shoemaker Special Merit Award is named for Colonel Raymond L. Shoemaker, dean of students, 1946-1955. The Shaffer Division Professional Staff Award is named for Robert H. Shaffer, dean of students, 1955-1969. The Schreck Community Award is named for Thomas C. Schreck, dean of students, 1969-1981. The Gordan Faculty Award is named for Michael V. W. Gordon, dean of students, 1981-1991. The McKaig Student Award is named for Richard N. McKaig, dean of students, 1991 - 2009.

For further information, contact Suzanne Phillips, assistant dean of students, Eigenman 1119, 812-856-1626, "".

Contact information: Suzanne Phillips, Assistant Dean of Students, Indiana University

Owen Hall 204, Bloomington, IN 47405

Phone 812-856-1626

Fax 812-855-2259


Press release - Dean's Awards, Deans Awards PR2010; Released: April 5, 2010



Harold "Pete" Goldsmith

Dean of Students, IU Bloomington

Dean of Students


Alcohol-Drug Information Center

Career Development Center

Counseling & Psychological Services

Development Office

Disability Services for Students

GLBT Student Support Services

Health Center

Parents Association

Student Activities

Student Advocates

Student Ethics & Anti-Harassment Programs

Student Legal Services

Veterans Affairs


Alcohol-Drug Peer Educators

Alumnae Panhellenic Association

Alumni Interfraternity Council

Arts and Sciences Placement Office

Campus Community Commission on Alcohol

Campus Judicial Board

Commission on Multicultural Understanding

Commission on Personal Safety

Committee for Fee Review

Council on Student Affairs

Dean of Students Faculty Advisory Committee

Disability Services for Students Advisory

Council (DSSAC)

Fraternity and Sorority Judicial Board Members

Gender Incidents Team

GLBT Advisory Committee

GLBT Anti-Harassment Team

Graduate Assistants - Division of Student Affairs

Health Center Advisory Committee

Hearing Commission and Review Board


Higher Education Practicum Students

Parents Association Advisory Board

Racial Incidents Team

Religious Bias Incidents Team

Residence Hall Judicial Board Members

Student Advisory Board

Student Advocates Advisory Committee

Student Legal Services Advisory Board

Sweatshop Advisory Committee