Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Media Contacts

John Hobson
IU Alumni Association

Cornelius Wright
IU Alumni Association

Last modified: Thursday, June 10, 2010

IU Alumni Association's Linsmith Scholarship recipients named

June 10, 2010

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- Four Indiana University students will receive the Charles and Jo Ann Linsmith Scholarship from the IU Alumni Association during Cream & Crimson Alumni Weekend, June 18-20.

Kristina Lafree of Mishawaka, Ind., Emilie Richart of Columbus, Ind., Amanda Stahl of Bayside, Wis., and Bertrand Teo of Bloomington, Ind., will each receive a $2,000 scholarship.

Kristi Lafree

Kristi Lafree

Lafree is a senior at IU Bloomington, the 2009-10 vice president of marketing for the Student Alumni Association, and a student runner for the IUAA. An opinion columnist for the Indiana Daily Student, she was also an IDS features reporter from 2007-08. Lafree, who also received a Burnett/Masters Scholarship through Hutton Honors College, is majoring in journalism and political science. She has a 3.88 grade point average.

Emilie Richart

Emilie Richart

Richart is a sophomore at Indiana University-Purdue University Columbus(IUPUC) where she is an assistant at the Office of Gift Development and Alumni Relations. She is also in the Alpha Lambda Delta and Phi Eta Sigma honor societies. Richart is a nursing major with a 3.75 grade point average.

Amanda Stahl

Amanda Stahl

Stahl is a senior at IU Bloomington, a cadet for the IU Police Department and a teaching assistant in jazz technique in the IU Contemporary Dance Program in the School of Health, Physical Education and Recreation. Active in the Student Alumni Association since 2007, she will be the SAA's 2010-11 president. She has also served as the group's vice president of Homecoming and director of special events, among other duties. Stahl is a criminal justice major with a 3.3 grade point average.

Bertrand Teo

Bertrand Teo

Teo is a senior at IU Bloomington. He is an editorial intern for the Indiana Alumni Magazine and editor of the Asian American Studies Department's Asian American Studies News. With IU Student Media, Teo was section editor for the Arbutus yearbook. He has been a columnist, copy editor and beat reporter for the IDS and an editorial assistant for Inside magazine. He has also been a reporter for WFHB radio and a marketing and publication intern for the National Arts Council of Singapore. Teo is a journalism major with a 3.68 grade point average.

The Linsmith Scholarship is open to the children and grandchildren of IUAA staff members, to student leaders of IUAA-sponsored organizations and to IUAA student employees. Selection is based on outstanding character, financial need and academic achievement.

The Linsmith Scholarship was established by Jo Ann Linsmith, BS'72, of Bradenton, Fla., who died in 2009. She and her husband, the late Charles Linsmith, MS'64, served IU as devoted alumni. Jo Ann helped found and served as president of the former IU Alumni Club of Sarasota and Manatee Counties (Fla.), which is now the Florida Suncoast Chapter of the IUAA. She served on the IUAA Executive Council and received the IUAA President's Award in 2000. Through the Linsmith Scholarships, she wished to recognize the service and devotion of the association's staff members and students.

The students will receive their scholarships on June 18 at an IUAA awards banquet at Alumni Hall, Indiana Memorial Union, in Bloomington.

The IU Alumni Association is dedicated to serving the university and its diverse alumni, students and friends. As one of the nation's largest alumni organizations, serving more than 530,000 graduates worldwide, the IUAA provides many programs and services to its members, nonmember alumni, and the university. For information on the Alumni Association, visit or call 800-824-3044. For more information on Cream & Crimson Alumni Weekend, visit