Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Media Contacts

Kyla Cox
IU Bloomington Continuing Studies

Last modified: Thursday, August 12, 2010

IU Bloomington Continuing Studies awards scholarships for 2010-11 academic year

Aug. 12, 2010

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- Indiana University Bloomington Continuing Studies has awarded 36 scholarships this summer to undergraduate adult students at IU Bloomington and students in the General Studies Degree Program.

Bloomington Continuing Studies Awards 2010

IU Bloomington Continuing Studies scholarship recipients

Print-Quality Photo

Twenty-one of the scholarships are funded by a generous grant from the Bernard Osher Foundation, located in San Francisco, Calif., providing tuition support for adults who have experienced a gap of at least five years in their formal education. Osher Reentry Scholars are eligible for up to $3,000 per academic year for full-time study and $1,500 for part-time enrollment.

The 2010-11 Osher Reentry Scholars are Michael Allgood, Christopher Barr, Julia Campbell, Sarah Childers, Arlene Flower, Islam Gashi, Shelly Gerber, Lisa Goch, Melissa Hunsberger, Richard LeBeau, Cheng Li, Maria Lopes, Mandy Stewart, Matthew Stonecipher, Matthew Tobey, all of Bloomington, Ind.; Heather Haddad of Wheatfield, Ind.; Matthew Hicks of Evansville, Ind.; Marie McVey of Park Ridge, Ill.; Julia Miller of Huntingburg, Ind.; Jacob Shaw of New York, NY; and Anthony Warner of Indianapolis.

The other 15 scholarship recipients are Jennifer Evans (Psi Iota Xi Scholarship), Adam Fisher (Ford P. Hall Scholarship), Mary Norman (PEO Cecilia Wahl Scholarship), Courtney Reynolds (Albert Wertheim Memorial Scholarship), Laura Ruchti (Tri Kappa Scholarship), Josť Saldivar (Returning Student Scholarship), Elizabeth Steele (Myron and Babs Forman Scholarship), Chad Stephan (Ford P. Hall Scholarship), Gillian Stoops (Bloomington Business and Professional Women Scholarship), Bethany Thurman (Ellen L. Essig Scholarship), William Wamathai (James E. Hertling Scholarship), all of Bloomington, Ind.; Melinda Bristow (James E. Weigand Scholarship) and Larry Mart (Bloomington North Rotary Scholarship) of Gosport, Ind.; Jen Gerni (Returning Student Scholarship) of Newberry, Ind.; and Lisanne Zimmerman of Greenwood, Ind. (Metropolitan Printing Service Scholarship).

The scholarships were awarded during a ceremony held on July 27.

"Today, we award a record number of scholarships to adult undergraduates at IU Bloomington, but there is much more going on here than giving money to students," Ron White, executive director of IU Bloomington Continuing Studies, said during the event. "This ceremony would not occur without the generosity of our donors and their belief in the power of higher education to change lives."

"I extend heartfelt congratulations to the newest Continuing Studies scholarship recipients," said Provost and Executive Vice President Karen Hanson. "These students, and the many others who participate in Continuing Studies programs at IU Bloomington, understand the vital importance of continuing education. In our rapidly changing world, and in this ongoing economic recession, the knowledge and skills gained by Continuing Studies students will serve them well."

Osher Reentry Scholar Lisa Goch said that receiving the Osher scholarship has made a "huge" impact on her ability to return to school.

"I would not have been able to enroll in classes at this time without financial aid, so this award truly does mean more than I can possibly say," she said. "I am hoping to complete my degree in about a year, and I plan to use my education to continue working in the field of communication."

For more information about scholarships, visit or call 812-855-4991.

About IU Bloomington Continuing Studies

IU Bloomington Continuing Studies provides opportunities for adults to engage in lifelong learning. Programs include General Studies degrees, Adult Student Resources and diverse noncredit courses in Lifelong Learning and Professional Development, Mini University and Leadership Bloomington-Monroe County. All programs draw upon the rich resources of IU Bloomington and are offered on campus and at convenient community locations in Bloomington and the surrounding area. IUBCS is a division of the Office of the Vice Provost for Undergraduate Education. For more information, visit or call 812-855-4991.