Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Media Contacts

Susan Williams
Media Relations

Last modified: Wednesday, June 30, 2004

IU alumni re-elect Sue Talbot to trustee post

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- Indiana University alumni re-elected Sue H. Talbot of Bloomington to a second three-year term as an IU trustee today (June 30). Talbot received 11,396 of the 29,432 votes cast. She was first elected in 2001.

Talbot, who earned bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees in education from IU, is past president of the IU School of Education Alumni Association and the IU Alumni Association, and also is founding director of Hoosiers for Higher Education, IU's advocacy organization. She has been special assistant for education to the governor and is a two-time recipient of the Sagamore of the Wabash designation, a special award bestowed by Hoosier governors.

Other candidates and their vote totals were:

Robert B. Cummins of Naperville, Ill., 7,846

Faye Tippy of Gary, Ind., 4,026

David D. Welker of Roanoke, Ind., 3,072

David A. Northern of Round Lake, Ill., 3,018

Seventy-four ballots were voided.

IU has nine trustees, three of whom are elected by alumni. The other two alumni trustees are Cora Smith Breckenridge of Elkhart, Ind., who was first elected in 1997 and whose present term ends in 2006, and Jamie B. Belanger of Dayton, Ohio, who was elected in 2002 and whose term expires in 2005. The remaining trustees are appointed by the governor.