Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Media Contacts

Amanda Ciccarelli
Office of the Provost

Last modified: Friday, September 10, 2010

Provost announces search for dean of College of Arts and Sciences

Sept. 10, 2010

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- Indiana University Bloomington Provost and Executive Vice President Karen Hanson announced today (Sept. 10) that the campus has initiated a search for the next dean of the College of Arts and Sciences.

Russell Hanson, professor and chair of the Department of Political Science in the College, will chair the search committee, which also includes faculty members from a dozen departments in the College and graduate student, staff and alumni representatives.

"The College offers a terrific opportunity for prospective candidates who are strongly committed to the arts and sciences and have the strategic vision we need to excel in research, teaching and service," Russell Hanson said. "Because of this we expect to receive applications from many highly-qualified leaders, and we anticipate recommending a short list of very impressive candidates to Provost Hanson around mid-December."

The next dean will succeed Bennett I. Bertenthal, Rudy Professor in the Department of Psychological and Brain Sciences, who resigned as dean of the College in March 2010. David Zaret, professor in the Department of Sociology, serves as interim dean.

Other members of the search committee include:

  • Maria Bucur-Deckard, Department of History
  • Andrea Ciccarelli, Department of French and Italian
  • Nicholas Clark, graduate student
  • David Erne, alumnus, College's Dean's Advisory Board
  • Caroline Jarrold, Department of Chemistry
  • Ian Kaelble, Department of Psychological and Brain Sciences
  • Ellen Ketterson, Department of Biology
  • James Madison, Department of History
  • Portia Maultsby, Department of Folklore and Ethnomusicology
  • Andrew Miller, Department of English
  • Frank Page Jr., Department of Economics
  • Sara Pryor, Department of Geography
  • Steve Sanders, alumnus, College Alumni Board
  • Olaf Sporns, Department of Psychological and Brain Sciences
  • Peggy Thoits, Department of Sociology
  • Samrat Upadhyay, Department of English
  • Rick Van Kooten, Department of Physics
  • Dorothy Verostko, Bloomington Professional Council

The committee will work with the executive search firm Greenwood/Asher & Associates Inc. to identify, screen and interview prospective candidates.

The College of Arts and Sciences is the oldest and largest academic division of Indiana University. In addition to being the academic home of more than 10,000 students, it provides course work in the liberal arts and sciences for most students in other schools at IU Bloomington. More information is at

The College includes 70 degree-granting departments and programs, which have 875 tenured or tenure-track faculty members and 2,900 graduate students enrolled in 27 master's and Ph.D. programs. It boasts highly ranked programs in cognitive science, evolutionary biology, clinical science, American studies, ancient studies, Indian studies, West European studies, sociology, social psychology, history, French and Italian, and developmental psychology, along with six federally funded Title VI area studies programs.

Bertenthal became dean of the College in January 2007. During his tenure, the College increased research funding and implemented "themester," a highly successful themed semester program. Previous deans of the College include David Zaret (interim, 2006), Kumble Subbaswamy (2000-06), Russell Hanson (interim, 1999-2000) and Mort Lowengrub (1988-99).