Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Bragging Rights on the Line at Indiana Intercollegiate

Sept. 15, 2010

Indiana Intecollegiate Notes

Indiana looks to defend the men's and women's titles at the Indiana Intercollegiate as they travel to West Lafayette for intra-state competition on Fri., Sept. 17. The Hoosiers won in dominating fashion in 2009, as the IU men finished with a score of 20 points and the women recorded 47 points for state bragging rights. The meet consists of three races. The open race, featuring women running a 5K and men running an 8K, begins at 3:30 p.m. ET. The women's championship is at 4:30, and the men's championship is at 5:15.

Cross Country

Photo by Mike Dickbernd

The IU men look to claim their third-straight state title, as they won the 2008 meet as well with a score of 33. The 2009 meet saw Andrew Poore garner Big Ten Runner of the Week accolades, reeling in a second-place finish to lead an IU romp that saw Hoosiers take second through sixth. To defend their title, the 28th-ranked Hoosier men will have to knock off No. 26 Butler. The Hoosier women enter the meet as the only team receiving votes in the USTFCCCA Coaches Poll.

For complete coverage of the Hoosiers this weekend, follow IU on Twitter at Assistant director of media relations Kyle Johnson will be tweeting from the course throughout the afternoon.

LAST TIME OUT Indiana cross country opened the 2010 season with the Indiana Open. Sarah Pease won the women's race and IU legend Sean Jefferson took the men's race. Ben Hubers was the first collegian to cross the line, along with five of his teammates who were all across the line within the next 2.13 seconds.

Pease ran the first 2K of the 5K course at a planned slower-than-normal pace before racing to the finish. She was in eighth place at the 2K mark, yet finished the race in first by nearly 10 seconds with a time of 18:12.86. Chelsea Blanchard took second in 18:22.11 and Samantha Ginther was third in 18:29.47 as Hoosiers claimed the top 10 spots.

Jefferson, now a professional triathlete, took the win in 25:17.99. Hubers ran a "handicapped" race much like Pease. The Marietta, Ga., native and teammates Andy Bayer, Andrew Poore, De'Sean Turner and Zach Mayhew all ran a planned pace for the first three miles of the 8K course. Hubers finished in 25:30.5 for the collegiate title and was immediately followed in by Bayer in 25:30.83, Poore in 25:31.16, Turner in 25:31.69, Nate Morrow in 25:32.18 and Mayhew in 25:32.63. Andy Weatherford was ninth in 25:38.39, wrapping up the Hoosier top seven.

The women's top seven was rounded out by Kelsey Duerksen (fourth, 18:36.88), Erica Ridderman (fifth, 18:40.69), Caitlin Engel (sixth, 18:48.21) and Lyndsey Wall (seventh, 18:51.35).

FOLLOW THE HOOSIERS ON TWITTER For those unable to attend the meet, live updates will be available via Twitter. IU athletics media relations assistant Kyle Johnson will be tweeting updates from the course and will provide updates on the Hoosiers throughout the year. Just visit