Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Media Contacts

Steve Hinnefeld
University Communications

Last modified: Monday, December 13, 2010

Six IU Bloomington employees to receive Staff Merit Awards

Dec. 13, 2010

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- Provost and Executive Vice President Karen Hanson will present Staff Merit Awards this week to professional, service and support employees at Indiana University Bloomington.

The 31st annual Staff Merit Awards ceremony will take place from 3:30-5 p.m. Thursday (Dec. 16) in the Frangipani Room of the Indiana Memorial Union, 900 E. Seventh St. It is open to the public.

"It gives me great pleasure to present this special award to these exemplary staff members," Hanson said. "IU Bloomington has many dedicated employees who work tirelessly and effectively, often without recognition. Their dedication makes the campus a special place."

Award recipients will include:

  • Professional staff: Jason Baumgartner, director of information services, Office of International Services; and Jim Gibson, academic advisor, Department of Sociology
  • Service staff: Bennie Flynn, journeyman sheet metal worker, Physical Plant; and William Niswander, carpenter, Department of Biology
  • Support staff: H. Peter Goodwin, control systems engineer, IU Cyclotron Operations; and Kimberly Sowder, cartographic coordinator, Indiana Geological Survey

Nominations for the award are made by colleagues and supervisors, and two recipients from each staff category are selected by a committee of faculty and staff. To be eligible, employees must be full-time and have at least three years of continuous service with Indiana University.

Award criteria include a positive attitude, exemplary job performance, a good attendance record and special efforts toward improving IU for the benefit of students, faculty, staff, alumni and other university associates.