Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Media Contacts

Barbara Coffman
IU Foundation

Last modified: Tuesday, January 18, 2011

Record number of IU Bloomington students receive Arthur R. Metz Scholarship support

Jan. 14, 2011

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- The Hutton Honors College has recognized 43 Indiana University Bloomington students for excellence by naming them Metz Scholars.

Arthu Metz

Photo courtesy of IU Archives

Arthu Metz

Established in 1955, the Metz Scholars program awards financial assistance to students who demonstrate scholarship, ability, character, leadership and "evidence of promise and future usefulness."

The Arthur R. Metz Scholars are "some of the best and brightest young minds on campus," according to Matthew Auer, dean of the Hutton Honors College and professor in the School of Public and Environmental Affairs.

Income from the original scholarship gift supported only one student; because the fund has been invested in the endowment over the years, however, it has grown to support multiple students. Each fall semester, the IU Student Foundation sponsors the Metz Banquet to honor all Metz Scholars.

The Arthur R. Metz Foundation has funded not only scholarships but also numerous other IU Bloomington campus initiatives such as the Metz-Wells Theatre in the Department of Theatre and Drama, the Arthur R. Metz Distinguished Scholars awards, the Wells Scholars Program professorship endowment, the Arthur R. Metz Medical Scholarship and the Arthur R. Metz Carillon. Funds from the foundation also created the Arthur R. Metz Philanthropic Opportunity Fund, administered by the IU Student Foundation, for on-campus philanthropic support for student group initiatives.

"As a scholar, soldier, eminent surgeon and sportsman, Arthur Metz knew well the value of education and the necessity of giving back; he himself struggled to pay his way through Indiana University and Rush Medical College. Without a doubt, his greatest accomplishment is his continuing philanthropic legacy of developing and supporting the higher education of young people through his endowed scholarships," said Gene Tempel, president of the IU Foundation.

"Because of Metz, untold lives and families have been bettered because of the advantages brought to students who have earned an IU degree," Tempel added.

Metz was an alumnus and a frequent visitor to Bloomington and ultimately a significant contributor to the history and cultural heritage of the campus. Born and raised in rural Indiana, Metz had both an ardent zest for adventure and a thirst for knowledge. He participated in African safaris, served as a captain in the Armed Forces during World War I, researched and practiced the use of x-ray technologies, and was personal physician to the Wrigley family, team physician to the Chicago Cubs and chief surgeon to several railroad companies.

Metz funded the construction of a special suite on the sixth floor of the Indiana Memorial Union that now contains fine art and collectibles from his vast collection. The impressive quarters have been frequented by such dignitaries as Mikhail Gorbachev and His Holiness the Dali Lama. Metz was a good friend of Herman B Wells and served on the IU Foundation's Board of Directors from 1960 until his death in 1963.

The 2010-11 first year Metz scholarship recipients are:

  • Deborah Backman, from Wyoming, Ohio, majoring in choral teaching and voice
  • Daniel Carmody, from Chesterton, Ind., majoring in biology
  • Harini Gurram, from Newburgh, Ind., majoring in biology
  • Robert Hawkins, from Charleston, Ill., majoring in mathematics
  • Samuel Hoffman, from San Anselmo, Calif., majoring in jazz guitar
  • Stephanie Iden, from Fishers, Ind., majoring in chemistry
  • Michael Jancovich, from Valparaiso, Ind., majoring in biology
  • Sangeeth Jeevan, from Terre Haute, Ind., majoring in biochemistry
  • Elizabeth Milhander, from Mishawaka, Ind., majoring in studio art
  • Kelly Miller, from Fort Wayne, Ind., majoring in biology
  • Matthew Reisdorf, from Mishawaka, Ind., majoring in biotechnology
  • Elizabeth Szymanski, from Crown Point, Ind., majoring in classical studies
  • Megan Thie, from Solsberry, Ind., majoring in English
  • Emily Watkins, from Bloomington, Ind., majoring in general studies
  • Laura Zetzl, from Avon, Ind., majoring in human biology

The 2010-11 second year Metz scholarship recipients are:

  • Lauren Buchanan, from Indianapolis, majoring in biology
  • Carolyn Chang, from Granger, Ind., majoring in communication and culture with LAMP certification
  • Anna Connors, from Bloomington, Ind., majoring in English, psychology and neuroscience
  • Ashleigh Dyer, from Carmel, Ind., majoring in business
  • Nicholas Faidley, from Indianapolis, majoring in English, philosophy and psychology
  • Yuchen Gao, from Bloomington, Ind., majoring in biology and informatics
  • Rachel Geissler, from South Bend, Ind., majoring in Spanish
  • Erik Stegemiller, from Indianapolis, majoring in English, economics and history
  • Emily Stewart, from Huntsville, Ala., majoring in geological sciences
  • Taylor Tobin, from Liberty, Ind., majoring in physics
  • Maxfield Victor, from Cincinnati, Ohio, majoring in finance and accounting

The 2010-11 third year Metz scholarship recipients are:

  • Margaret Griesinger, from South Bend, Ind., majoring in classical civilization
  • Jeremy Johnson, from Burke, Va., majoring in voice performance
  • Nina Kovalenko, from Noblesville, Ind., majoring in history
  • Joseph Mcllvain, from Madison, Kan., majoring in recording arts
  • Rebekah Niedner, from Valapariso, Ind., majoring in social work and Spanish
  • Kaitlyn Raterman, from Tampa, Fla., majoring in piano composition
  • Ginger Thompson, from Lafayette, Ind., majoring in elementary education
  • Kristina Vragovic, from Fort Wayne, Ind., majoring in English
  • Adam Wheeler, from Bloomington, Ind., majoring in chemistry

The 2010-11 Fourth year Metz scholarship recipients are:

  • Alexander Ayers, from Waukesha, Wis., majoring in violin performance
  • Adeel Chaudhry, from Warsaw, Ind., majoring in biology
  • Erin Duffy, from Flemington, N.J., majoring in accounting and finance
  • Jaimie Murdock, from Murray, Ky., majoring in cognitive science and computer science
  • Nicole Shelpman, from O'Fallon, Ill., majoring in English and education
  • Adam Turman, from Schererville, Ind., majoring in jazz saxophone
  • Laura Wetzel, from Westerville, Ohio, majoring in biology
  • Bradley Zehr, from Fort Wayne, Ind., majoring in biochemistry with LAMP certification