Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Media Contacts

Susan Williams
University Communications

Last modified: Monday, April 4, 2011

IU to confer five honorary degrees during 2011 spring commencement ceremonies

April 4, 2011

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- Indiana University President Michael A. McRobbie announced today (April 4) that Indiana University will confer five honorary degrees during the upcoming university-wide commencement season, which runs this year from May 6 to May 15.

The honorary degree, the highest academic recognition Indiana University can bestow, is awarded to individuals who demonstrate the highest standards of personal integrity and sincere concern for the public good. In addition, candidates for the honorary degree generally have significant ties to the state of Indiana or to Indiana University. Through this high honor, IU seeks to honor individuals who may serve as role models for students, faculty, alumni and the people of the state of Indiana.

Anthony Adams, IU Bloomington

At IU Bloomington on May 6, Anthony Adams will receive an honorary Doctor of Humane Letters degree. Adams earned a Ph.D. in physiological optics from IU Bloomington in 1970. He was a teaching assistant, lecturer and faculty chairman in the Division of Optometry, serving in those various roles from 1963-1981. Referred to in one nominating letter as "the most important figure in the American Academy of Optometry over the past 50 years," Adams has studied the early vision changes of diabetics and has discovered some of the earliest vision and retinal function changes of patients with diabetes. He also has studied myopia development in children.

Sidney Taurel and Clement McDonald, Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis

Sidney Taurel and Clement McDonald will receive honorary degrees during commencement ceremonies at Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis, May 14-15.

Taurel, will receive an honorary Doctor of Humane Letters. He served as president, chief executive officer, chief operating officer and board chairman for Indianapolis-based Eli Lilly and Company from 1993-2008. He has been highly involved in the Indianapolis community as a trustee for the Indianapolis Museum of Art and founder for both the International School of Indiana and the Central Indiana Corporate Partnership. Taurel was appointed by President George W. Bush to two councils, the Homeland Security Advisory Council and the President's Export Council, and one committee, the Advisory Committee for Trade Policy and Negotiations. Also, he was appointed by the French Prime Minister to the Strategic Council for the Health Care Industry of France.

Clement McDonald, who will receive an honorary Doctor of Science degree, served as professor of medicine at the IU School of Medicine from 1972-2006 and retired as distinguished professor emeritus in May 2006. Considered the "father" of medical informatics, McDonald has been at the forefront in crafting national health information technology policy. During his 34 years at IU, he published in more than 250 academic publications and developed the Logical Observation Identifier Names and Codes (LOINC), a database of universal codes for clinical observations that is used worldwide.

V. William Hunt, Indiana University Kokomo

On May 10 during the IU Kokomo commencement, V. William Hunt will receive an honorary Doctor of Humane Letters degree. A native of Kokomo, he graduated from IU Bloomington with a bachelor's degree in government in 1966 and a law degree from the Maurer School of Law in Bloomington in 1969. Hunt is the chairman of Hunt Capital Partners, LLC, a venture capital and consulting firm based in Indianapolis. He has served or currently serves as chair of the Clarian Health Partners, Inc. Board of Directors, a member of the IU Foundation Board of Directors, IUPUI Board of Advisors, Maurer School of Law Board of visitors, the Kelley School of Business Dean's Council, the Well House Society, the 1820 Society and recently served as chairman of the Advancing Indiana economic development initiative and as chair of the Maurer School of Law fund raising campaign. In commemoration of his parents, Virgil and Elizabeth Hunt, the younger Hunt also contributed the single largest financial gift received at IU. Virgil Hunt was the first director, the title used before chancellor, of the IU Kokomo campus.

Douglas C. Bennett, Indiana University East

IU East will confer an honorary Doctor of Humane Letters degree upon Douglas C. Bennett during commencement ceremonies on May 13. Bennett has served as president of Earlham College since 1997 and will retire from this position on June 30, 2011. He serves on the Board of Advisors to the IU East campus and on the Board of Directors to the National Survey of Student Engagement, housed at IU Bloomington. As the 16th president of Earlham, Bennett has made a strong commitment to the college's role in the local community. His role as a civic leader was solidified with the creation of his "Earlham Forums," which focused on community issues. He has enhanced the student-centered mission of the college while upgrading facilities. His leadership in development has raised more funds in the college's capital campaign than any previous campaign in the school's history.

For additional information regarding Indiana University's 2011 commencement season, visit the IU Office of University Ceremonies at