Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Indiana earns sixth seed, will take on UCLA in NCAA Opening Round

May 2, 2011

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- The NCAA Women's Water Polo Committee announced on Monday that the Indiana Hoosiers women's water polo team has earned the No. 6 seed for the 2011 NCAA Women's Water Polo Championship held in Ann Arbor, Mich. at Canham Natatorium on May 13-15.

The Hoosiers (25-11) will matchup with No. 3 seed UCLA in the first round at 4:30 p.m. on Friday, May 13. Indiana is making its second appearance in the NCAA Championship after defeating Michigan for the CWPA Eastern Championship on Sunday to claim the conference's automatic bid. The Hoosiers last competed at the NCAA Championship in 2003.

Along with a conference title, the Hoosiers enter the tournament with a seven-game winning streak and 23 victories in their last 26 contests.

Indiana's opening round opposition, UCLA, notched an at-large selection after posting a 24-6 record this season. The Bruins finished second in the MPSF Tournament and tied for third in MPSF regular season play. Indiana and UCLA clashed early in the 2011 campaign, with the Bruins notching the 9-4 win on Feb. 6 at the Stanford Invite. The game was highly-contested through three-plus periods before UCLA scored three goals late in the fourth quarter to seal it.

The winner of the Hoosiers' opening game will meet the victor of No. 2 seed California (24-4) and No. 7 seed UC San Diego (17-18). On the opposite side of the bracket, No. 1 seed Stanford (25-1) will clash with the winner of the play-in game between Iona and Redlands, while No. 4 seed Southern Cal (18-6) plays No. 5 UC Irvine (21-8).

Tickets are available for sale online at, in person at the U-M Athletic Ticket Office, or by calling (734) 764-0247 or toll-free (866) 296-MTIX (6849). Single-session adult and youth/senior citizen tickets will also be available at the door (cash sales only). Doors open one hour prior to the start of the first game. Tickets requested to be mailed will be sent out by Wednesday, May 4.

Game 1 - No. 2 seed California vs. No. 7 seed UC San Diego - 3:00 p.m. ET
Game 2 - No. 3 seed UCLA vs. No. 6 seed Indiana - 4:30 p.m. ET
Game 3 - No. 1 seed Stanford vs. No. 8 seed Iona or Redlands - 6:00 p.m. ET
Game 4 - No. 4 seed Southern Cal vs. No. 5 seed UC Irvine - 7:30 p.m. ET