Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Big marks for IU at Billy Hayes Invite

May 6, 2011

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- Annually, the Billy Hayes Invitational sees IU post some of its best times and marks of the season, and the 33rd annual invitational didn't disappoint. The Hoosiers won 17 events on the day.

The Hoosiers had a great day in the vertical jumps, as IU won both the men's and women's high jumps and the women's pole vault. Emma Kimoto took the women's high jump, clearing 1.77m (5-9.75). Kimoto moved into fourth in the IU records and fourth in the Big Ten on the season. Darius King won the men's high jump, clearing 2.09m (6-10.25).

The Hoosiers went 1-2 in the women's pole vault. Vera Neuenswander cleared 4.20m (13-9.25) for the win, and Kelsie Ahbe cleared 4.10m (13-5.25) for second.

Kind Butler was the collegiate winner in the 100m and 200m dashes. In the 100, he clocked a time of 10.35 seconds, which leads the Big Ten and is fourth best in IU history. In the 200, he clocked a 21.07, which is a .15 second PR.

The 1,500m invitational went to Breanne Ehrman in 4:23.34. Ehrman's time is the eighth best in IU history and was an eight second improvement on her career best.

Jordan Gray won the women's collegiate title in the 800, finishing in 2:07.00. The time is 10th in the IU records and third in the Big Ten this season. The men's 800 went to De'Sean Turner in 1:50.05.

Monique Riddick won the women's shot put with a heave of 16.39m (53-9.25), for second in the Big Ten this season, behind only teammate Faith Sherrill.

Chris Vaughn took the college title in the men's 400m, finishing in 47.42, behind only unattached Antione Drakeford.

Lyndsey Wall took the collegiate win in the women's 3,000m, finishing in 10:17.19. Nate Morrow and Yoshi Shimizu went 1-2 in the men's 3K, with Morrow winning in 8:31.21. The 3,000m steeplechase went to Robby Kleber, who clocked a time of 9:16.11.

The open women's 1,500m went to Caitlin Engel in 4:34.22, shedding three seconds off her career best. Ann-Marie Clarke took the collegiate win in the 400m hurdles, clocking a time of 1:00.28.

Fabrina Espinoza won the women's long jump, leaping 5.72m (18-9.25) to win by 4.25 inches.

The Hoosiers returns to action at the Big Ten Championships in Iowa City on May 13-15.