Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Despite Loss, Hoosiers have dome fun in home finale

May 24, 2011

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- A pair of Hoosier baseball players in Alex Dickerson and Joey DeNato were named to the 13-member All-Big Ten First Team on Tuesday, announced the conference office. Six Hoosiers in total were recognized by the league's head coaches.

In addition to the two first teamers, Micah Johnson was an All-Big Ten Third Team selection while DeNato, Dustin DeMuth and Ryan Halstead each made the All-Freshman squad. Rounding out the Indiana award winners was Brian Lambert, earning the team's Big Ten Sportsmanship Award.


  • Dickerson's second consecutive first team selection
  • DeNato was the only freshman on the first team
  • Head Coach Tracy Smith has mentored nine Hoosiers to first team recognition since 2006
  • DeNato and DeMuth were unanimous picks for the All-Freshman Team