Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Hoosiers sweep Tennessee and Kentucky in season opener

November 2, 2011

Thanks to strong performances from the entire lineup, the Indiana men's swimming and diving team opened the 2011-12 with a pair of wins, defeating Tennessee, 151-149, and Kentucky at the Jones Aquatic Center in Knoxville, Tenn.

Cody Miller

Photo by Michael Thomas

Cody Miller

"These are two very nice wins," said head swimming coach Ray Looze. "Tennessee is always a top team and we are humbled to be able to come in here and get the win.

"It is rare to get the team win when you don't win a relay, but our depth really helped us. This is a huge step forward for our men. Now we have to come back next week and continue to train hard for an increasingly challenging schedule ahead."

Indiana opened with a second-place finish in the 200 medley relay as James Wells, Cody Miller, Steve Schmuhl and Daniel Kanorr clocked a time of 1:29.93.

In the 1,000-yard freestyle it was Ryan Hinshaw tallying a second-place finish in 10:06.92. Michael Mohler was third (10:07.13) and Patrick Scally fourth (10:16.85).

Jim Barbiere gave Indiana its first win of the afternoon, taking the 200 freestyle in 1:39.11. Schmuhl, competing in his first collegiate dual meet, was third in 1:40.11, with John Schnittker seventh (1:54.26).

James Wells touched the wall second in the 100 backstroke (48.71), with freshman Matt Gerth fifth (52.27) and Adam Twer ninth (54.43).

Sophomore Cody Miller picked up right where he left off after last year's stellar freshman campaign, sweeping the 100- (55.51) and 200-yard breaststroke (2:00.63) events. Colin Hoffman was fourth in the 100 breast (57.86), with Ian Boggs fifth (58.32). In the 200-yard race, Sam Trahin finished third (2:04.40) and Boggs fifth (2:06.46).

Tyler Shedron took home the 200 butterfly title in 1:49.96, with Barbiere fifth (1:52.54) and Trahin sixth (1:53.99). Kanorr was crowned champion of the sprint with a win in the 50-yard freestyle (20.51), as Gerth took seventh (21.45) and Wells eighth (21.92).

On the 1-meter springboard sophomore Darian Schmidt took third, tallying 329.45 points. Zac Nees was fifth (314.70) and Casey Johnson eighth (280.50).

In the 100 freestyle it was Kanorr taking third (46.52), followed by Gerth in fifth (46.70) and Mike Hurley seventh (47.20).

Schmuhl won the first title of his Hoosier career with a time of 1:48.67 in the 200 backstroke. Barbiere made it a 1-2 sweep with a time of 1:50.66, while Twer was seventh (1:54.50).

Hinshaw made it seven individual titles for Indiana after winning the 500 freestyle in 4:30.70. Andrew Taylor was third (4:34.40) and Schnittker fifth (4:36.30). In the 100 butterfly Schmuhl led the way for IU with a second-place time of 49.49, followed by Wells in sixth (50.57) and Shedron seventh (51.08).

Miller followed up his wins in the breaststroke events with a second-place finish in the 200-yard individual medley (1:51.97). Trahin was fourth (1:52.86) and Hurley seventh (1:57.01).

The swimming events ended with the 400 freesytle relay as Kanorr, Barbiere, Gerth and Shedron took second in 3:03.68.

With the swimming portion of the meet over, it came down to the performances in the diving well to determine a winner. With Indiana needing five points to secure the win over Tennessee, they got just that as Schmidt took third and Mick Dell'Orco fourth in the 3-meter diving competition.

"I was very pleased with the performance of our divers," Looze said. "They made the difference here today. Here without coaches Jeff Huber (Pan Am Games) and Todd Waikel (family event), Will Bohonyi did and excellent job coaching a large group of divers for the first time as a collegiate coach. It was a pressure-packed situation and if they don't perform well, we don't win."