Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

IU fans encouraged to vote for Victor Oladipo's dunk for Dunk of the Year

Feb. 1, 2012

Indiana sophomore guard Victor Oladipo's slam over Kentucky's Darius Miller on Dec. 10 is nominated for the Dunk of the Year, Intersport announced Jan. 30.

Oladipo Dunk

Indiana sophomore guard Victor Oladipo dunks the ball during an IU basketball game.

Each week for four weeks, six rim-rattling dunks will be nominated for Dunk of the Year. Two winners from each week will be determined by fan voting through the official Facebook page. The eight finalists will compete in a two-week voting competition to determine the Dunk of the Year. The winner will be announced during the Dunks of the Year special, which airs March 26 on ESPN2.

In the latter stages of the second half, with Indiana leading then-No. 1 Kentucky, Oladipo sent the Hoosier crowd into a frenzy with a monster dunk in the face of Kentucky's Darius Miller. Oladipo finished the game with 13 points as the Hoosiers upset the top-ranked Wildcats, 73-72.

Oladipo's slam is competing against five other dunks from week one, including a poster dunk from UConn's Jeremy Lamb, a monster tip-dunk from Alabama's Tony Mitchell, an alley-oop dunk from Kentucky's Darius Miller, a 360-slam from Washington's Terrence Ross and a soaring jam from Michigan's Tim Hardaway Jr.

To watch or support Oladipo or any of the other dunkers, visit Fans can even share their vote with their Facebook friends. Week one voting opened today and ends at noon ET Feb. 6.

About Intersport

For 26 years, Intersport has been an award-winning innovator and leader in the creation of sports- and entertainment-based marketing platforms. Intersport provides turnkey solutions for global brands by combining two award-winning divisions: Sponsorship & Event Marketing and Television & Digital Media. To learn more about Intersport, visit, like it on Facebook or follow it on Twitter (@IntersportBuzz).