Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Media Contacts

Susan Williams
IU Media Relations

Last modified: Thursday, June 30, 2005

IU alumni elect Patrick A. Shoulders as trustee

JUNE 30, 2005

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- Indiana University alumni elected Patrick A. Shoulders of Evansville to a three-year term as IU trustee today (June 30). This is Shoulders' second term as IU trustee. He first was appointed to the board in 2002 by Gov. Frank O'Bannon to replace John Walda, who had resigned to assume an appointed position with the university. Shoulders received 7,308 of the 31,990 votes cast through mailed ballots.

Patrick A. Shoulders

Print-Quality Photo

Shoulders believed he would not be reappointed by Gov. Mitch Daniels, a Republican, and ran for one of the three elected positions on the board against eight other IU alumni candidates. Every degree-holder from the university had the opportunity to vote in the election.

Shoulders, who earned his undergraduate degree in 1975 and his law degree in 1978, both from Indiana University, is a partner in Ziemer, Stayman, Weitzel & Shoulders law firm in Evansville, and he has served the university in several capacities. He is a past president and current member of the IU College of Arts and Sciences Alumni Board and also is a member of the board of directors of the IU Foundation. He is a former member of the IU School of Law at Indianapolis Alumni Board and past president of the IU Alumni Association's Woodburn Guild. He serves on the IU Foundation's Well House Society advisory board and is a member of the IU Varsity Club's Hoosier Hundred.

Other candidates and their vote totals were:

Carolyn Jordan of Gary, Ind., 4,092

Stephen R. Springer of Syracuse, Ind., 4,033

Kari L. Niblack of Avon, Ind., 3,553

Dave Neumann of Dallas, Texas, 3,333

Steven Kellam of Carmel, Ind., 3,031

Joseph M. Cameron of Indianapolis, 2,932

Robert B. Cummins of Naperville, Ill., 2,338

Michael G. Fowler of Cloverdale, Ind., 1,230

There were 140 ballots voided.

IU has nine trustees, three of whom are elected by alumni. The other two alumni trustees are Cora Smith Breckenridge of Elkhart, Ind., who was first elected in 1997 and whose present term ends in 2006, and Sue H. Talbot of Bloomington, who was elected in 2001 and whose term expires in 2007. The remaining trustees are appointed by the governor.