Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Media Contacts

Rebecca Keith
IU Alumni Association

Last modified: Wednesday, June 13, 2012

IU's Cream & Crimson Alumni Weekend honors alumni leaders, scholarship recipients

June 13, 2012

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- Six Indiana University alumni will be honored and eight students will receive prestigious scholarships during the annual Cream and Crimson Alumni Weekend. Hosted by the IU Alumni Association, events will take place Friday and Saturday, June 15 and 16, on the IU Bloomington campus.

Weekend activities include the Alumni Leaders Conference, reunion activities for the class of 1962 and a banquet celebrating IU students and alumni volunteers. Lunch speaker for the opening day of the conference Friday will be Teresa Lubbers, BA'73, Indiana commissioner for higher education. Her topic will be "Reaching Higher, Achieving More."

The Alumni Weekend luncheon is from noon to 1:30 p.m. Saturday in the Frangipani Room of the Indiana Memorial Union, 900 E. Seventh St. IU professor James H. Capshew, BA'79, will speak at the Saturday luncheon about his new book, "Herman B Wells: The Promise of the American University."

The Alumni Leaders Conference will bring together members of the IUAA's Executive Council -- the organization's advisory body -- and leaders of alumni chapters, constituent societies and affiliate groups. Attendees spend the weekend learning, sharing ideas and advancing IU and the IU Alumni Association.

Of the approximately 225 alumni leaders attending the conference, nearly all serve IU and the IUAA on a volunteer basis.

The banquet on Friday evening will recognize outstanding IU alumni and students as well as several exemplary alumni programs and services directed by volunteer-led alumni groups (see list below). The IUAA has more than 150 alumni organizations representing different regions of the world and various schools and departments. These organizations engage in a variety of activities, including student recruitment, social events, networking activities and community service.

The reunion alumni will hear special presentations from current and former IU administrators, enjoy a campus bus tour and reconnect with classmates at breakfasts and luncheons.

Individual award recipients

Gertrude Rich Award

  • Sandy Schultz Moberly, BS'63, Bloomington, Ind.

During her husband, Steve's, term as chair of the IUAA Board of Managers, Sandy not only attended all the events that he took part in, but she enhanced those events with her friendly manner and good will toward everyone. Sandy has continued as an unofficial ambassador for the IUAA and for IU. She is active in many alumni and community groups.

The award honors the memory of the wife of Claude Rich, chief executive of the IU Alumni Association from 1948 to 1968. Given to the spouse or partner of a significant Alumni Association volunteer who has exemplified the spirit of Gertrude Rich, the award celebrates the unsung, behind-the-scenes volunteers who support, encourage and assist alumni leaders.

IUAA President's Award

  • Gregory A. Castanias, JD'90, Oakton, Va. Head of Federal Circuit practice group, Jones Day, Washington, D.C.; adjunct professor of law, Maurer School of Law.
  • Matthew J. Elliott, MBA'93, Los Angeles. Software engineer, the Boeing Co.
  • Don Kritsch, BA'67, MA'71, Durham, N.C. Retired dean and faculty member, Durham Technical Community College.
  • Lynn Lewis, BME'66, MS'82, EdS'87, Clarksville, Ind. In retirement, serves on the board of the Falls of the Ohio Foundation and on the advisory board of the Clarksville Historical Preservation Commission.
  • Vernon A. Williams, BA'73, Indianapolis. Vice president of communications, Indiana Black Expo.

The IUAA established the President's Award to pay tribute to its most dedicated alumni volunteers. It is the highest award given by the IU Alumni Association to a volunteer leader. The criteria include distinguished leadership in the IUAA's chapters, constituent societies or affiliate groups; service to the Alumni Association; and loyalty to the ideals of Indiana University. Honoring individuals who help provide opportunities for their fellow alumni and friends to stay connected with their alma mater, this award is given annually and remains the IUAA's premier alumni honor.

Scholarship recipients

Charles and Jo Ann Linsmith Memorial Scholarship

  • Kara Brooner, IU Bloomington
  • Evin Ehrreich, IUPU Columbus
  • Michele Frostick-Haas, IU Northwest
  • Benjamin Judge, IUPUI
  • Brett Rasche, IU Bloomington
  • Roxanne Sirhan, IU South Bend
  • Morgan Smith, IU Bloomington

The Charles and Jo Ann Linsmith Memorial Scholarship was established by Jo Ann Linsmith, BS'72, of Bradenton, Fla., who passed away in 2009. She and her husband, the late Charles Linsmith, MS'64, served IU as devoted alumni. Jo Ann helped found and served as president of the former IU Alumni Club of Sarasota and Manatee Counties (Fla.), which later became the Florida Sun Coast Chapter of the IUAA. She served on the IUAA's Executive Council and received the IUAA President's Award in 2000. Through the Linsmith Scholarship, she wished to recognize the service and devotion of the association's staff members and students.

Jerry Foster Memorial Scholarship

  • Cody Vaughn, Henry County Chapter

Each year, a daughter or son of an alumni chapter leader -- who currently serves as an officer or board member -- receives this $1,500 scholarship. The student must be enrolled as a full-time undergraduate student on any of the IU campuses. The Foster Scholarship was established in memory of Jerry Foster, BS'74, who served as the IUAA's alumni chapter director. Foster passed away in 1992, but through this scholarship, his connection with the IUAA's chapters continues.

Organization award recipients

Alumni Communities Best Practice in Alumni Relations Awards

The IU Alumni Association recognizes alumni communities that have exhibited best practices in one of the organization's Functional Excellence areas.

  • Career Development: Metro New York Chapter
  • Diversity & Multiculturalism: Neal-Marshall Alumni Club of Northwest Indiana
  • International Outreach: Thailand Chapter
  • Personal Enrichment: Johnson County (Ind.) Chapter and St. Joseph County (Ind.) Chapter
  • Philanthropy: GLBT Alumni Association and Whitewater Valley (Ind.) Chapter
  • Spirit, Pride & Tradition: Greater Evansville (Ind.) Chapter
  • Student & Recent Graduate Enrichment: Colorado Chapter
  • Student Recruitment: Central Carolina Chapter
  • University Advocacy, Citizenship & Recognition: Charlotte (N.C.) Chapter

Alumni Communities Overall Achievement in Alumni Relations Awards

  • Chapter: Central Indiana
  • Constituent Society: School of Journalism and School of Social Work
  • Affiliate Group: GLBT Alumni Association

The IU Alumni Association is dedicated to serving the university and its diverse alumni, students and friends. As one of the nation's largest alumni organizations, serving more than 560,000 graduates worldwide, the IUAA provides many programs and services to its members, nonmember alumni and the university. For more information, call 800-824-3044.